Kid's Favorite Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I liked it better made with ham stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Delicious, nutritious, easy and my girls loved it. I had to add more chicken broth though and didn't have the chervil - it was good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Well, the kids (2 and 4 yrs old) were not crazy about it, but my husband was, me too, so maybe this will appeal more to "big kids". I had to add extra liquid for re-heating, and pureed everything. Also used ham instead of backon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I loved this and even my split-pea-hating boyfriend was happy to eat it several times so it can't be bad. All the veggies gave it a nice complexity. It comes out pretty thick though, not very soupy. (Which is not necessarily a bad thing.) The leftovers thickened up so much in the fridge that I served them as a chunky spread on baguettes. Enjoyed it a lot both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe, in it's completion, was worth four stars but here's my kaveot; IF YOU DON'T HAVE A PRESSURE COOKER FIND A DIFFERENT RECIPE!!! Contrary to the little side note about cooking your peas for a few hours if you're sans pressure cooker, this recipe took me the better part of a day and a half! I ended up using almost three cartons of stock! As I said, it was tasty but not particularly convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Delicious. I made it in a pot on the stove rather than in a pressure cooker. Needed more water/chicken stock but that is just the cooking method I think. Was making this for me not kids so I added some Louisiana seasoning, really gave it a lift. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I basically make the same soup in the oven. Add a ham bone (or not), 2 1/4 cups of split peas, 8 cups of water, veggies and spices, bake covered 2 hours at 350, do not peek. Take out of oven, blend or use immersion blender, add Kielbasa or ham, bake 30 mins more. I do not add potatoe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
well, I subbed a diced ham steak for the bacon, and used sodium free stock since I was making this for someone on a VERY low sodium diet. The flavors were actually much clearer w/o the salt, but I added a little to my serving. Really good ingredient portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I LOVED this version of Split Pea Soup! I did it in the pressure cooker because I didn't have the time to wait using the conventional method. I needed extra liquid and used both organic chicken and vegetable broth during the cooking of the potatoes, carrots and spices. Also, I did not have any Chervil so I used 1 tsp of tarragon and 1 tsp of parsley in its place. Came out great! Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I added kielbasa to mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States