Kidney Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Made this dish this morning after reading through the reviews. Last night I put half a pound of dried kidney beans in a pot of water and needed something to do with them. I do not use anything in a can much these days (I implore others to do the same). I sauteed the garlic with a whole yellow onion using coconut oil. I used 4 seeded jalapenos instead of green pepper for better flavor. I quadrupled the cumin and mustard because I love spice! This may be way too much for others so adjust as you need. I added 3 cups of water, 1.5 Knorr chicken bouillon cubes, one 10 oz bag of frozen organic supersweet white corn and 1/2 a cup of bacon bits before bringing to a boil and simmering for 40-50 minutes as the kidney beans required more cook time. This turned out fantastic! No mush as described by others who used canned beans and corn. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaturallyEast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is a great quick and easy weekday recipe! I don't think I added enough cayenne or salt to taste but overall, it turned out pretty good for the first go 'round. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Phenomenal! I honestly don't know how anyone could have given this any less than 5 stars. I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, although I did use Green Giant Mexicorn instead of plain corn and I am always a generous season-er. :-) I highly recommend for a low cal side dish - pair it with "Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken" recipe for a well rounded, healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great! Easy! I put a dab of sour cream in my bowl. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great bulk cooking recipe! Tastes good, easy and tidy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this for my husband... who pretty much only eats meat. He has to increase his fiber intake, so beans are a good option. Made the recipe as described and our family thoroughly enjoyed it. A new favorite "meatless" dish for my husband, a first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Definitely a 'different' taste but it's certainly hearty and filling. I like it more and more with each new bowl but probably wouldnt serve it to someone else without a quick disclaimer to warn them of how different it is. Good with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Really great and easy lunch! I love corn and beans but this was unexpectedly DELICIOUS!!! Skipped the green pepper due to the lack of it. Though I think a red or yellow pepper would work better. Added extra garlic and served over brown rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This dish is okay. It's not spectacular and it's not repulsive. I made the dish as it was suggested with a slight modification: I used a yellow bell pepper as I didn't have a green one on hand and I'm not a fan of the can "sludge" that comes from un-rinsed beans so I rinsed the beans and replaced the exact quantity of can liquid with chicken stock. This dish has the desire to be great but it's missing something. It's okay and I'm eating it as I write this but it's not a dish that I would rush to make again. As another reviewer said here, this could be a nice base recipe but it needs more massaging before this becomes a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is very tasty. I didn't have bell pepper so I just omitted that. Also I added 1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar to add some freshness. (Probably the bell pepper would have provided that needed fresh taste but alas we were out of that ingredient.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States