Kidney Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This soup got better and better. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Bland. Not a favourite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnerchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was awesome!! It was a huge hit with my 20 month old who is a very picky eater at this age. I did vary from the recipe a little. I had a left over pork tenderloin roast from the night before, so I diced it up and put it in about 8 cups of water to boil for about an hour, added an onion and some seasonings. After the pork was tender I added 3 potatoes, a can of carrots, a can of kidney beans, and a can of italian diced tomatoes. I took another reviewers advice and added some chili powder and a few red pepper flakes. I didn't have any corn starch to thicken it up so I threw in about a hald a cup of instant mashed potatoes. It turned out really great and everyone loved it. Will definately cook again, think next time I might add some smoked sausage with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very easy, and very tasty. I had 4 pork chops so just used four instead of worrying about what to do with one leftover pork chop. I browned the chops in the pot with a bit of olive oil and garlic powder first, scraped the pan, then proceeded with the recipe. I don't have carrots so I subbed yellow peppers, and I used a whole can of diced tomatoes. I didn't have two cans of kidney beans so I used 1 can of kidney and 1 can of black beans, but I rinsed them before putting them in the soup. I broke up the pork chops before serving to make the soup a little thicker. Very good, tasty, and filling soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was a great cold day soup. I substituted 2 cups cooked white rice for the potatos and it was very hearty and yummy. My teenage son couldn't get enough after diving practice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Rawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good! I dropped a star because it needs some doctoring to really be all it can be. I did the first step the night before, then before reheating it to finish cooking I took out the the pork chops and shredded them. After adding the rest of the ingredients, I added some garlic salt, a few red pepper flakes, black pepper, red wine, and worcestershire sauce. I also thickened it just a bit with some cornstarch mixed with water, though not enough to really call it a stew. Served over rice with French rolls on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Everything I love. I topped it with sour cream. This reminds me of Mexican food. I drained the corn & beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Liked it the first day, LOVED it the second day. I'll make this again for sure, but this time I'll make it a day in advance! Leftovers freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
AMAZING RECIPE! i actually used it as a starting point...I added some sweet potatoes, rosemary, a little chili pepper, some red wine, and actually, i added about a tsp of cloves. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cute College Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This was really good. I browned my pork chops first in a little garlic and olive oil in a dutch oven pan, then added 1 cup of tomato sauce I had left over from Pasta Fagioli II soup I made last week (also from this site and also really good!),then I added a few diced cherry tomatoes, carrots, celery and 8 cups of water. I went ahead and added the beef bouillon at this point. I then added 3 (15.5 oz.) cans of kidney beans and the onions which I had sauteed in Olive oil and, ofcourse, the potatoes. I took other reviewers advice and shredded my pork chops and added some cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I maybe added 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper since you can season at the table. This is a nice soup and I am guessing it would be pretty yummy over rice. I chose to add 8 cups of water to have more of a soup consistency but I can see if you wanted a stew you could use less water and maybe even lightly flour the chops to thicken the broth a bit. Thank you for sharing this simple yet tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States