Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This basic recipe has been a favorite in my family for fifty years. We omit the celery, and add diced pieces of cheese..Velveeta seems to be the most popular, cheddar came in a close second..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
The old stand-by basic recipe, that you can easily play around with, that I've used for many years. Everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Out of this world! I JUST made this - it hasn't even chilled yet and I can't keep my fork out of it. I couldn't decide between bean salad or corn salad, so I made this and added a 15oz can of drained sweet corn (I tripled the original recipie first - I had a 52oz can of kidney beans). Also subbed green onion for regular (had 'em), and chopped uo a dill pickle instead of sweet relish. I'm a goof about altering recipies (not always with good results), but this one surely doesn't need goofing with. Thank you sooooooo much for sharing this!! My new favorite salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. It sounded quick and easy and it was, but with dubious results. The mayo was all I could see and taste, there was really no other flavor in the "salad." I chilled it overnight hoping the mayonnaise flavor would subside compared to the relish and salt and pepper to no avail. 1/2 C. of mayo was a lot making it heavy and gooey. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was a good salad, but it won't knock your socks off. I don't like sweet relish so used dill relish instead. I also used green onion instead of regular onion as I didn't want a strong raw onion taste. It was good, but I'll probably add more dill relish next time & maybe some dill weed & a sprinkling of parmasean cheese. It's a good salad, but needs a little something added for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Tastes delicious when chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Very good! I left out the eggs and celery and added a jalepeno pepper. Everyone loved it. Will defitately make again. Great summer time salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Pretty good!! I used green onions instead of regular, though, and omitted the celery. It was flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Wonderful taste and so quick and easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States