Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My husband loves this. I use 1 can of light kidney beans and 1 can of dark. I have cut the mayo back to 1/4 cup and use spring onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is the best kidney bean salad I have ever made. My granddaughter who does not like kidney beans ate almost all of it. I cut the recipe in half and it still came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love kidney bean salad. Have made for years but I use Miracle Whip instead of mayo and chopped sweet pickles instead of relish. It is better to set in refrig overnight so the flavors meld. But I am sure this version is just as good. Just a matter of taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Made this first time a couple of years ago. I dont use pickle, but add diced red apple (with skin on) and cheese, we like jack and cheddar mix. Make sure you cut eveything same size. Celery adds a nice crunch, next time maybe some walnut nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I too have made this recipe for years. My recipe doesn't call for the pickle relish but it does call for 1/2 cup grated carrots and 1 whole cup of chopped celery. More celery gives it a nice crunch and the carrots add color and nutrition. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an outstanding recipe just like we used to have years ago. The only change I made was using small sweet pickels chopped into small pieces rather than the relish and adding a teaspoon of the juice from the pickel jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloverdale, Indiana, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I did not include the eggs (for no other reason other than I didn't have any to hand)but did include a bit of dill as suggested by another member. I also noted that some others thought the salad had too much mayo/relish, so added both ingredients just a bit at a time until I was satisfied. Tasty & wll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Wow! Fresh, healthy quick fix. I added a chopped carrot for a little extra nutrition and it didn't affect the taste at all. Be sure to use mayo and relish to your own liking rather than just taking someone's word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinto_pony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was OK but can't see what is so fabulous about it. Kind of a strange combo of ingredients. I too used chopped dill pickle since I don't like sweet relish, and I also always use fat-free Miracle Whip for mayo. It was all right, but the only way I'd make it again is if I just wanted a way to use up some ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow! This salad was so good! And I don't even like beans. I think the mayo was a little too much though. A 1/4 cup would've been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States