Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
One of my favorites! Great with BBQ or even on crackers as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a great classic salad that I remember from my youth. My family does not care for sweet pickle, so I used dill pickle relish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a very quick & easy salad to throw together with ingredients I had on hand, so that's a plus! We liked the combination of flavors, but agree that the recipe calls for too much mayo. I used 2T and it was plenty for our taste. Other than that, no complaints and no leftovers! Made a great side dish to our Sloppy Joes II dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a very easy and good salad. Made it this morning for our Easter dinner. Since I used a white onion that is more pudgent, I only used 1/8 of a small onion and 1 egg. I also put in a pinch of cayenne pepper to make the flavors pop. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I was surprised to find this recipe. My grandmother has made kidney bean salad for years. I gave it five stars because it's similar, a great start, and a good change of pace. Kidney beans, onion, celery, and mayonaise are the basics. My grandmother always added to the basics and made it differently depending on what was on hand. I make my dressing more like potato or macaroni salad dressing. I mash 2 hard boiled eggs, add my mayo, a squirt of prepared mustard, and a splash of pickle juice. I also spice it up a bit with little garlic powder, a touch of salt and pepper, and maybe a pinch of cayenne or paprika. My grandmother always used either chopped pickles (dill and/or sweet) or chopped cucumber. Optional items would include cheese (Velveeta, Colby, or mild or sharp cheddar, try your favorite cheese), peppers (green, yellow, or red), and even a chopped apple. The trick to this salad is to make it before the rest of your meal so that it has time for the flavors to meld a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made this today. My guests liked it, but I didn't. I thought it was too bland, not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was looking for something new to do with kidney beans besides just heating and eating them from the can. I found out that beans are good for diabetic's, and so I am trying to get more beans into my diet. My husband and I just loved this recipe, and we will for sure be making it more often. I did however make a few changes like I didn't have sweet pickle relish, but I did have dill relish. I do not use mayonnaise, and so I used miracle whip instead. I also rinsed off the kidney beans because of the redish brown juice from the can. Great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was SO easy and SO yummy! I used green pepper instead of celery, because I didn't have any celery. I am imagining this in a pita....maybe with some fresh spinach leaves and some tomato slices....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great salad I remember from childhood. I omitted the relish and added a few tspns dried cranberries, and a chunk of granny smith apple chopped and a couple tablespoons toasted pine nuts. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Weiker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States