Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Love this-one of my favorites! But I agree with the previous poster who said to add mayo to taste rather han 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
We had a bunch of kidney beans so we used them with this recipe. It's a pretty good mix. Used soy mayo rather than the real stuff and it turned out well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Loved it! Had the flavor of my potato salad dressing, but the beans add a nice change and certainly a lot easier then boiling and peeling potatos! Will make again-followed recipe exact
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I liked this until I added the mayo - I didn't care for the flavor, and it made it really unappetizing looking. Would make again, but without the mayo obviously. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I love kidney bean salad and this tastes just like the deli's. It was very easy to prepare and very good. I didn't use the whole 1/2 cup mayo. Just added to taste. I didn't want to put to much in--you can always add extra but can't take it away. I also added some small cubes of diced sharp chedder. I will be making this myself instead of purchasing, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This is an old recipe I was pleased to find again. I substituted chopped dill pickle for the sweet pickle relish, used light mayonnaise seasoned with a dash of onion powder and a T. of dill pickle juice, and proudly served a dish very much like one that was a childhood favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is so good!! I made this for my husband whom mother makes this, and now mines better. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Pretty good!! I used green onions instead of regular, though, and omitted the celery. It was flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. It sounded quick and easy and it was, but with dubious results. The mayo was all I could see and taste, there was really no other flavor in the "salad." I chilled it overnight hoping the mayonnaise flavor would subside compared to the relish and salt and pepper to no avail. 1/2 C. of mayo was a lot making it heavy and gooey. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This basic recipe has been a favorite in my family for fifty years. We omit the celery, and add diced pieces of cheese..Velveeta seems to be the most popular, cheddar came in a close second..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States