Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I give it five starts IF you add 1 teaspoon of curry powder. That's the best ingredient and they don't have it in there!! And I use Dill Relish instead of sweet, it gives it that dill/curry flavor that's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I remember my mother making this long ago and I loved it. I still do! I am happy I found this recipe because she never wrote it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe is great! I left out all the ingredients and made up my own and it was fantastic! No, really I just left out the relish and celery and used 1/4 cup of mayo. It makes a cool and simple al fresco summer lunch served on a lettuce leaf and accompanied by hot corn bread, a tossed salad and iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
easy to whip up, however too many onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Thanks, Jackie, for the great recipe & the memories! My mom used to make this salad when I was a kid but I had forgotten all about until I saw it here. I made it exactly as stated only I cut everything in half (I live alone) & it's perfect. The recipe would be easy to double or triple for a crowd. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I was the only one in my family who came close to liking this, and I think that's because I'm such a fan of kidney beans. Sorry it didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
OMG. I thought this was a private family recipe that only we knew about. Except for the relish (we chop up sweet gherkins) it is exactly like Dad, Grandma and the Aunts used to make. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeeCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I remember my mom making this salad when I was a kid some 50+ years ago -- it was a family favorite. I had been trying to remember all of the components, so was very pleased to see this on Allrecipes website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe has also been a favorite in my family for decades. The only difference is that we add a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick and a dash of mustard. It's best served cold and after the flavors have a chance to blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is a recipe from my childhood that I had totally forgotten. Never had it with celery, but I'll give it a try. My mom always chopped sweet pickles for it, so a little bigger chunks than using relish. I'll try it though. And I think that the mayo needs to be added a little at a time. It shouldn't overwhelm the salad which sounds like a problem that many were having. It should just coat everything, not get soupy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States