Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This is exactly the recipe I've been looking for. Tastes just like my mother's. I substituted green pepper for the celery, mainly because I didn't have any celery. I agree with others that it was way too much mayonnaise. I suggest adding a dollop at a time until it is the consistency that you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Add a heaping teaspoon of sour cream, a tiny splash of milk, some garlic and some minced parsley for added flavor! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Tomaskovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is similar to one my mother made with the exception of the egg. Hers contained chopped tomatoes, bell peppers, and cucumbers as well as the other listed ingredients. It is a refreshing and delicious summer salad! Tastes even better when chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a hit!! I was in a hurry to make it and didn't have time to boil eggs so I left them out. I added a little more celery and used dill relish instead. So yummy and went perfect with our BLTs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The secret to this recipe is to mash the hard boiled eggs with the mayo, basically making egg salad and then add the other ingredients. I am also cut the mayo by using some plain greek yogurt. Be generous with the mayo/yogurt - adding more or less to suit. The end result should be a nice creamy salad. Everyone will want to know the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I searched high and low for my Grammy's recipe. This is it!!! It brings back so many memories. Thank you:) I did follow the recommendation of one review to add a little of the mayo, refrigerate for a couple hours, drain the watery juice and add the rest of the mayo. This did keep it really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe has been in my family for 3 generations. My grandmother (I'm 60+) added ketchup to the recipe, but my family has never done that. There's always a can of kidney beans in the pantry. Celery and pickles always in the bowl. Sometimes green onions, celery seed, salt and pepper, sometimes diced apple... never eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
3 generations, grandmother, mother, me have been making this recipe. I don't bother measuring anything. I do add a pinch of garlic powder, a pinch of sugar, and a splash of yellow mustard. Also rinse the beans well. We absolutely love it. Cold salads are a favorite of my family. Pea, kidney bean, potato and macaroni. Love them all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have been looking for this kidney bean salad recipe for a long time. My mother used to make it and I could not remember all of the ingredients. Also good to add if you have it is some chopped fresh sweet pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States