Kidney Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is similar to one my mother made with the exception of the egg. Hers contained chopped tomatoes, bell peppers, and cucumbers as well as the other listed ingredients. It is a refreshing and delicious summer salad! Tastes even better when chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a hit!! I was in a hurry to make it and didn't have time to boil eggs so I left them out. I added a little more celery and used dill relish instead. So yummy and went perfect with our BLTs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The secret to this recipe is to mash the hard boiled eggs with the mayo, basically making egg salad and then add the other ingredients. I am also cut the mayo by using some plain greek yogurt. Be generous with the mayo/yogurt - adding more or less to suit. The end result should be a nice creamy salad. Everyone will want to know the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I searched high and low for my Grammy's recipe. This is it!!! It brings back so many memories. Thank you:) I did follow the recommendation of one review to add a little of the mayo, refrigerate for a couple hours, drain the watery juice and add the rest of the mayo. This did keep it really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe has been in my family for 3 generations. My grandmother (I'm 60+) added ketchup to the recipe, but my family has never done that. There's always a can of kidney beans in the pantry. Celery and pickles always in the bowl. Sometimes green onions, celery seed, salt and pepper, sometimes diced apple... never eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
3 generations, grandmother, mother, me have been making this recipe. I don't bother measuring anything. I do add a pinch of garlic powder, a pinch of sugar, and a splash of yellow mustard. Also rinse the beans well. We absolutely love it. Cold salads are a favorite of my family. Pea, kidney bean, potato and macaroni. Love them all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have been looking for this kidney bean salad recipe for a long time. My mother used to make it and I could not remember all of the ingredients. Also good to add if you have it is some chopped fresh sweet pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made this for church potluck yesterday...after reading the reviews I used 2 cans of kidney beans and one can of corn, substituted dill relish for sweet relish, and doubled eggs, relish, celery and onions (I used red onions) and everybody loved it....way to much mayonnaise...and I love mayonnaise...I did read the previous reviews about to much mayonnaise but I love mayonnaise so didn't cut back...next time I will as the ingredients does not sock up the mayonnaise like pasta and potatoes.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Not sure what to add to this for more flavor it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States