Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Many compliments on this bread recipe. Minor changes> molasses instead of brown sugar when feeding the yeast in the first step (easier to mix), half wheat and half all purpose flour. In the future, I will make this with 3/4 of the dough in one bread pan, and use the leftovers for dinner rolls, as each half did not make such a large loaf as I like for slicing for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delish! Has a regular wheat bread taste (like store bought) and I got a wonderful crisp crust on mine without doing anything special. I made it exactly as written except I did not need the last cup of flour in the recipe and instead of rolling it out I just shaped the loaves in the pan into rectangles that fit the pans. Here's a tip: do not over rise for the second rising. If you let it rise for too long (more than 35 mins. or so) it will over rise and then deflate if you try to move it to the oven and it will be flat like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This bread came out fantastic. I don't have any bread making equipment so i kneeded the dough for about ten minutes prior to the first rising. It rose beautifully and i love the way the slits in the top look. I find that most breads become dense after cooling however this stayed quite fluffy. I don't have little kids at home but this was definately hubby friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very good bread! It is definitely kid friendly, because within minutes of taking this out of the oven, the smell got their attention and almost an entire loaf was gone within ten minutes. I did do a few things different, but not so much to change the recipe, per se. I always use King Arthur flour or home-grinded. In this case, I used KA flour, as it is far superior to all other brands, imo. Used coconut oil for the vegetable oil; Rapunzel sugar instead of brown sugar; Himalayan salt; and raw milk. The end results were delicious! Oh yes, only used three cups plus 2 TBSP. of the whole wheat flour. It's easy to know when you have added enough flour, if you're using a stand mixer with a dough hook. The dough will come together and completely come away from the sides of the bowl. It'll also come away from the dough hook (not be sticky to it) where the dough hook is only kneeding it. If kneeding by hand, same thing, except with your hands, it won't be sticky to your hands anymore and will come away from them. Just a tip for anyone new to bread making. :) Do a search on bread making and you'll find all sorts of tricks of the trade! Bread making is so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Easy to make, very delicious. Not as sweet as a honey wheat bread, which I like. Good wheat flavor. I boil water in my teapot and fill an extra metal loaf pan 1/2 full with boiling water and then put it in the oven with the bread. It makes the oven work more like a brick oven and gives the bread a real crusty crust, but I do this with all yeast breads (my hubby loves a good crust). Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is so good. It really is kid-friendly, too! All of my babies just loved this and couldn't stay out of it. I didn't need all of the flour- left out the last cup. I used canola oil in this. I wouldn't bake at 400 next time though- it got brown really fast and was a teensy bit dry on the ends. I think 350 for the whole amount of time might be better. I didn't follow the directions for shaping, but probably should have (my loaves looked funny). I pulled this out of the oven at 5pm and the first loaf was totally gone 4 hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Perfect sandwich bread! Soft bread & crust, but firm enough to hold up while slicing thinly for sandwiches & toast. I made 1 loaf & some sticky buns, since I had to roll it out, anyway. Both were a hit with my husband & 4 yr old. It didn't need to bake more than 30 min. in my oven (15min @ 400F, 10-15min @ 350F.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was very good and easy to make - I used half AP flour and half wheat. I used my bread machine to mix the dough and then let it rise in a warm oven (pre-heat to 200 degrees then turn OFF!) with a damp towel over bowl for an hour. Shaped loaves (you don't need to roll out, just shape into a rectangle and plop in buttered pan) and baked as directed. I really enjoyed the end result and this really is kid (baby) friendly as many wheat bread recipes contain honey and children under 1 year are not supposed to eat honey. These make great toast sticks for my little guy to enjoy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
The double loaf worked well in my kitchenaid. I used almost all of the flour. I rolled and tucked one and shaped the other into a loaf. The rolled and tucked one was much nicer and didn't stick to my pan but had huge holes in the loaf even though I rolled it tightly. I googled how to make french bread and the technique worked on this for rolling and tucking. It's more like fold and pound. This time there were no holes and it was great.. gone in 30 minutes. Also, need to remember 15 minutes at 400 and 30 at 350 or even less time if I don't want to burn this! Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Excellent, soft, fluffy, even textured and EASY. My 3.5 year old helped me make this today. It was fun and not much of a mess to clean up! We used the dough hook and followed the recipe as-is. Yummy, basic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States