Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Easy to make, very delicious. Not as sweet as a honey wheat bread, which I like. Good wheat flavor. I boil water in my teapot and fill an extra metal loaf pan 1/2 full with boiling water and then put it in the oven with the bread. It makes the oven work more like a brick oven and gives the bread a real crusty crust, but I do this with all yeast breads (my hubby loves a good crust). Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is so good. It really is kid-friendly, too! All of my babies just loved this and couldn't stay out of it. I didn't need all of the flour- left out the last cup. I used canola oil in this. I wouldn't bake at 400 next time though- it got brown really fast and was a teensy bit dry on the ends. I think 350 for the whole amount of time might be better. I didn't follow the directions for shaping, but probably should have (my loaves looked funny). I pulled this out of the oven at 5pm and the first loaf was totally gone 4 hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Easy to follow, easy to make recipe. First time I followed the shaping instructions (poorly) with unattractive results. Second time, I didn't roll it out and it turned out perfectly. The second time I made this bread I used bread flour in place of all purpose and I got a little lighter loaf (which my husband likes) Thanks for this recipe... I'll be making home made bread from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this this afternoon and it came out awesome. I made it exactly as the recipe read. I needed about one cup less of the flour though. It is my favorite new bread recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delish! Has a regular wheat bread taste (like store bought) and I got a wonderful crisp crust on mine without doing anything special. I made it exactly as written except I did not need the last cup of flour in the recipe and instead of rolling it out I just shaped the loaves in the pan into rectangles that fit the pans. Here's a tip: do not over rise for the second rising. If you let it rise for too long (more than 35 mins. or so) it will over rise and then deflate if you try to move it to the oven and it will be flat like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Excellent, soft, fluffy, even textured and EASY. My 3.5 year old helped me make this today. It was fun and not much of a mess to clean up! We used the dough hook and followed the recipe as-is. Yummy, basic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This bread is fantastic! Very easy to make, the only problem I had was that my loaf was a little flat, which seems to happen to me a lot when I make bread. I think next time I'll use bread flour instead of the all purpose and see if that helps. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, but ended up being a little disappointed. It was easy enough to make (used my stand mixer), but the flavor is pretty boring. Usually I enjoy having a slice of plain bread or toast. I'll keep trying other bread recipes, thanks for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
this is very good, our "standard" whole wheat bread. it's never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love this recipe. I use it all the time. It's great if you add some cinnamon, ginger, even cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States