Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made bread, it went really well with this recipe. It was easy and everyone loved it! I had a friend and her kids over when I was making it and they refused to leave before it was done because it smelled so good cooking they had to have some!! I am sure I will be making this many many times, I only have half a loaf left and I made it this afternoon! I also didn't need the last cup if flour, but made it exactly to the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyers Cave, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I have NEVER made bread before & am fairly new to *real* cooking. (read: most of my meals come in a box & are tossed in the oven) I was happy with how the loaves turned out and received rave reveiws from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmeg12
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Many compliments on this bread recipe. Minor changes> molasses instead of brown sugar when feeding the yeast in the first step (easier to mix), half wheat and half all purpose flour. In the future, I will make this with 3/4 of the dough in one bread pan, and use the leftovers for dinner rolls, as each half did not make such a large loaf as I like for slicing for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I really wanted to love this bread ... it was easy to make, it made a beautiful loaf, but, overall, I just didn't love it ... the taste and texture were okay, and it made great French toast, but it just wasn't what I was looking for, I guess ... it is dense, which is why it works so well for French toast ... and, I think it would be good to use for stuffings and things like that ... but, as a sandwich bread ... not so much ... thanks, tho'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was my first attempt at making yeast bread--I finally got a stand mixer--and this recipe was perfect! I brushed melted butter on the tops after I took them out of the oven. The house smells great and the bread is yummy! After adding the initial amounts of flour, I only had to add 1/3 c. more of white and 1/2 c. more of wheat. Thanks for the easy to follow recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love this recipe. I use it all the time. It's great if you add some cinnamon, ginger, even cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
this is very good, our "standard" whole wheat bread. it's never failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I was excited to try this recipe, but ended up being a little disappointed. It was easy enough to make (used my stand mixer), but the flavor is pretty boring. Usually I enjoy having a slice of plain bread or toast. I'll keep trying other bread recipes, thanks for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This bread is fantastic! Very easy to make, the only problem I had was that my loaf was a little flat, which seems to happen to me a lot when I make bread. I think next time I'll use bread flour instead of the all purpose and see if that helps. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Excellent, soft, fluffy, even textured and EASY. My 3.5 year old helped me make this today. It was fun and not much of a mess to clean up! We used the dough hook and followed the recipe as-is. Yummy, basic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States