Kid-Friendly Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe. Kicked the butt of a "artisan" recipe I got out of a fancy cookbook. Quick, easy, of course, kid-friendly. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Perfect sandwich bread! Soft bread & crust, but firm enough to hold up while slicing thinly for sandwiches & toast. I made 1 loaf & some sticky buns, since I had to roll it out, anyway. Both were a hit with my husband & 4 yr old. It didn't need to bake more than 30 min. in my oven (15min @ 400F, 10-15min @ 350F.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This recipe turned out fabulous. I didn't change a thing and it is perfect wheat bread for sandwiches and just eating! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
After never being able to find a store-bought bread that the whole family enjoys, I tried this recipe. It has now become a staple in our home. I make it every week and every one loves it. It makes great toast as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
We loved this recipe. My five kiddos are hard to please...especially when it comes to whole wheat. I added a bit of honey and substituted a cup of the whole wheat flour for bread flour. I really liked the density. We had ours with garlic honey. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This recipe wasn't bad, just wasn't my favourite. I like more dense bread than this. It is very light, and my crust came out quite tough, especially the bottom. Not overcooked, just hard. The flavour is good, but not awesome. Thanks for the recipe though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very good! And yes, my kids loved it! I also made some rolls with the dough and they were very good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I'm a novice bread baker, but have been baking this recipe for several months now. I'm so pleased with it! The bread holds up well over time, it freezes well, and I think it makes terrific sandwiches. I usually tip in about 1/4 cup each wheat bran and toasted wheat germ, just to add a little more nutritional oomph, and I think it adds a little more flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent recipe. I got soft fluffy bread. I live at high altitude and its very dry here, so could incorporate only 2 cups of all-purpose flours & 3.25 cups of whole wheat flour. Will definitely make this again and again and again... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Smelled amazing, but bread was a little tough. Might have been my fault?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States