Kid-Approved Sweet and Sour Chicken Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I wrote this recipe! PLEASE disregard the vinegar! You can use vinegar or ketchup, but not both! Also, you can use orange/ lemon lime soda or ginger ale instead of pineapple juice and water. Cut the sugar way down if you use soda. It is also fantastic with brown sugar and/ or soy sauce. I make this almost daily. (with whatever combo of ingredients I have on hand).The recipe is so forgiving and it will whip up in a sauce pan in no time. . My kids dip everything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Easy and good. I ended up dissolving the cornstarch in pineapple juice because I started with a bigger can of pineapple. And I used brown sugar - didn't measure but tried to add a little less than a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaMary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
awesome recipe!! loved it just the way it is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I enjoy trying new sweet and sour recipes. This is a very yummy one. I like the pineapple in it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Was super great!! I did the vinegar version with just a touch of ketchup for color. I added to chicken drumsticks that I dipped in egg mixture with pepper and homemade chilli sauce, and then dipped in flour with red pepper, black pepper, paprika and cayenne. I baked the chicken at 375 for an hour (pan rubbed with olive oil and pam)and flipped chicken once. then i scooped sauce into the chicken glass pan and let bake for another 10 minutes then turned it super down for another 10 mintutes. then i covered it until my hubby got home and was a super yummy success served over white rice. yeh! thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We LOVE this recipe! I have five children...one on a special gf/cf/sf/apple free diet.This is a GREAT recipe.we havent used it with carrots yet but i do add big slices of onion and green pepper and the pineapple juice. we have tried MANY recipes for sweet and sour with no soy sauce and THIS one is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This sweet and sour sauce is better than even what restaurants serve. It doesn't taste very good at first, but if you let it sit and cool down the flavor is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly and it came out even better than the stuff from the Chinese restaurant. I did use frozen popcorn chicken instead of frying the chicken, but it was still a big hit with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yes used only ketchup instead of vinegar. This was a great add to homemade chicken nuggets or rice. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States