Kid-Approved Sweet and Sour Chicken Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I wrote this recipe! PLEASE disregard the vinegar! You can use vinegar or ketchup, but not both! Also, you can use orange/ lemon lime soda or ginger ale instead of pineapple juice and water. Cut the sugar way down if you use soda. It is also fantastic with brown sugar and/ or soy sauce. I make this almost daily. (with whatever combo of ingredients I have on hand).The recipe is so forgiving and it will whip up in a sauce pan in no time. . My kids dip everything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Easy and good. I ended up dissolving the cornstarch in pineapple juice because I started with a bigger can of pineapple. And I used brown sugar - didn't measure but tried to add a little less than a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaMary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
awesome recipe!! loved it just the way it is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The flavor was great, but it ended up very thick and jelly-like. i would cut the cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was pretty nice, better than I expected it to be. I made it exactly as written, but I skipped the optional carrots. (I probably would have liked them, but I just didn't want to have to go buy them.) For the pineapple, I used a can of crushed pineapple. I was a little worried the sauce would be "chunky", but the crushed pineapple softened up a lot. I'm not a kid, but I ate this sauce as suggested, over meals of chicken nuggets and white rice. I thought this made quite a lot, though - those "4 servings" must be fairly large, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yes used only ketchup instead of vinegar. This was a great add to homemade chicken nuggets or rice. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This sweet and sour sauce is better than even what restaurants serve. It doesn't taste very good at first, but if you let it sit and cool down the flavor is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I enjoy trying new sweet and sour recipes. This is a very yummy one. I like the pineapple in it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I was very skeptical of this recipe. I followed the notes to switch leave out the vinegar and substitute lemon-lime soda for the pineapple. This came out very well. I added a bit of soy sauce, brown sugar and a touch of barbeque sauce. My kids loved it and it is way better than any of the bottled stuff in the grocery store. The novelty of ketchup and soda mixed together helped too I think. I will use it again when I need a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very versatile! I used fresh chicken breast diced and doubled it to go over rice. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Valerio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

See how to make a spicy, sweet-and-sour sauce for Korean fried chicken.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States