Kid-Approved Sweet and Sour Chicken Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I wrote this recipe! PLEASE disregard the vinegar! You can use vinegar or ketchup, but not both! Also, you can use orange/ lemon lime soda or ginger ale instead of pineapple juice and water. Cut the sugar way down if you use soda. It is also fantastic with brown sugar and/ or soy sauce. I make this almost daily. (with whatever combo of ingredients I have on hand).The recipe is so forgiving and it will whip up in a sauce pan in no time. . My kids dip everything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Easy and good. I ended up dissolving the cornstarch in pineapple juice because I started with a bigger can of pineapple. And I used brown sugar - didn't measure but tried to add a little less than a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaMaMary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
awesome recipe!! loved it just the way it is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The flavor was great, but it ended up very thick and jelly-like. i would cut the cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was pretty nice, better than I expected it to be. I made it exactly as written, but I skipped the optional carrots. (I probably would have liked them, but I just didn't want to have to go buy them.) For the pineapple, I used a can of crushed pineapple. I was a little worried the sauce would be "chunky", but the crushed pineapple softened up a lot. I'm not a kid, but I ate this sauce as suggested, over meals of chicken nuggets and white rice. I thought this made quite a lot, though - those "4 servings" must be fairly large, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very versatile! I used fresh chicken breast diced and doubled it to go over rice. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I was very skeptical of this recipe. I followed the notes to switch leave out the vinegar and substitute lemon-lime soda for the pineapple. This came out very well. I added a bit of soy sauce, brown sugar and a touch of barbeque sauce. My kids loved it and it is way better than any of the bottled stuff in the grocery store. The novelty of ketchup and soda mixed together helped too I think. I will use it again when I need a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I enjoy trying new sweet and sour recipes. This is a very yummy one. I like the pineapple in it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Was super great!! I did the vinegar version with just a touch of ketchup for color. I added to chicken drumsticks that I dipped in egg mixture with pepper and homemade chilli sauce, and then dipped in flour with red pepper, black pepper, paprika and cayenne. I baked the chicken at 375 for an hour (pan rubbed with olive oil and pam)and flipped chicken once. then i scooped sauce into the chicken glass pan and let bake for another 10 minutes then turned it super down for another 10 mintutes. then i covered it until my hubby got home and was a super yummy success served over white rice. yeh! thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We LOVE this recipe! I have five children...one on a special gf/cf/sf/apple free diet.This is a GREAT recipe.we havent used it with carrots yet but i do add big slices of onion and green pepper and the pineapple juice. we have tried MANY recipes for sweet and sour with no soy sauce and THIS one is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States