Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really wanted to love this burger. I felt that the patty was too heavily seasoned; I could not taste the meat at all. It felt as though I was eating a uniquely flavored sausage or meatball on a burger bun. While I like sausages and meatballs, that was not what I was looking for in a burger. I will most likely not attempt the patty itself again, but the sauce was tasty and I might try that on a different burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Holy Moly...this is a perfect turkey burger recipe! Moist and full of flavor! I had to tweak the spicy sweet mayo sauce because I didn't have all the ingredients, but I made the burger as written. I doubled the burger ingredients and was able to make 8 nice sized burgers. This is the second burger recipe I've tried from Occasional Cooker and I love this one just as much as her Asian style burger! You are my 'Burger Queen'...lol! Thanks again for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I must have done something wrong when making the spicy mayo because it was not edible. And after reading all the positive reviews about the mayo and even all the ingredients sound amazing together my conclusion is I missed something or added the wrong ingredient. The turkey burgers were absolutely delicious! This is how ill prep turkey burgers from now on !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This recipe is very good! My hubby and son never knew they were eating ground turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Fabulous! I am always looking for a new way to prepare turkey burgers and we loved this one. I left out the liquid smoke(only because we don't like the flavor). I prepared everything else as the recipe stated and it was so yummy! The caramelized onions and sauce took this burger over the top! I will definitely be adding this to the rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
These burgers are awesome! The spicy mayo is wonderful, but a half batch is PLENTY, with some leftover! I have not made it with the hot pepper sauce, as I don't have that on hand. I make the burgers just as written, but usually use jalapenos out of the jar, as that is what I typically have available. Try these...you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I had to add bread crumbs to the burger mixture because it was too soupy - about 1/3 cup. The sauce is delicious! I used Trader Joe's whole grain dijon and Hellman's regular mayo. Added a pinch of sugar while carmelizing the onions ... Served on homemade buns with shredded cabbage and carrots. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! The only change I made was omit the mesquite seasoning as I didn't have any around. A tip: Place the grated onion in a sieve and set over a bowl for 30min-1 hour to drain out the extra moisture and keep the burgers from falling apart. The sauce is known as "crack sauce" at our house, it's so addictive. We don't do the carmelized onions every time, just when the Walla Walla Sweets are in season, the burgers are excellent with and without. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Served on pumpernickel with whole rye kernels. OMG this burger was amazing. Followed recipe to a tee, it definitely was not too hot. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was a really yummy burger! I did make some changes and I'm glad I did because I just checked the calories! Holy smoke. So much for healthy:) This is what I did to make it a low carb high protein meal: I didn't make any changes to the mayo. I skipped the liquid smoke and mesquite(I don't care for them) I added the half onion to the burger and didn't carmelize extra. I didn't use a bun and placed the burger on lettuce instead. I drizzled a little of the mayo on the burger and it was yummo! Thanks for the recipe. I even had another burger this morning for my "in between meal snack"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States