Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi everyone. This is my recipe. I wanted to let you know that there will be extra mayo left over that can be used on other sandwiches or other items. About a 1/3 of it would be needed for the burgers. I use Hellman’s low fat mayo that has a great flavor and only 15 calories per serving to cut down on the fat and calories. Also, I used a Dijon course grain mustard and 99% extra lean ground turkey, with Stubbs Original BBQ sauce (because it contains less sugar) but you could also use a mesquite flavored BBQ sauce if you don’t have the dry seasoning or try one of the great substitutions other reviewers used. In addition, I used a Vidalia onion and Montreal Steak Seasoning with McCormick’s Mesquite Grill Seasoning. This is not a packet but in a jar like other spices. AR had changed that ingredient to a packet. If you have never tried a turkey burger, this is the one to try! If you can’t bring yourself to try turkey, make it with ground beef. I made this the other night and switched it up with 93% lean ground beef which is as lean as regular ground turkey and used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. It was delicious also. I hope your family enjoys these burgers as much as mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Wow these turkey burgers really are Kickin'! I love turkey burgers and this recipe was no exception. The carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo really took this turkey burger over the top! I used vidalia onion and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I also used Montreal Steak Seasoning and like others who didn't have dry mesquite seasoning on hand I mixed up my own with a bit of smoked paprika (love the stuff) chili powder and cumin. I did cut the back on the amount of spicy sweet mayo - I made half the recipe and even though it's more than enough to cover the burgers it's a great dipping sauce for sweet potato fries or just about anything else you can think of! We grilled these burgers vs. pan frying and served them on toasted rolls with fresh crisp lettuce along with the carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo! Thanks Occasional Cooker for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My hubby loved this, so it's a 5-star recipe in this corner! Now let me tell you all the things I did--both wrong and different. Wrong? When I grated the onion, I grated it right over the turkey. That's wrong. I knew it as soon as I saw the juice gathering at the bottom of the bowl. Melinda Lee, our talkshow host, told us all not to do that! But did I listen? Grate the onion into a separate bowl so the juice can settle and be siphoned off. That's why my next mistake. I still wanted to grill these patties. And they fell through the grate. So I finished them in a pan. Different? We wanted no bread, so we just had the onions and the wonderful sauce (to which I will add the other half of the cayenne for the leftovers--I was being cautious). I served this with sliced deliciously ripe tomatoes and some Cajun Grilled Corn (from this site) so that we could drizzle some of that great sauce over all. It was a wonderful dinner. Thank you for our meal tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Prepared for participation in the Recipe Group this week. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised with this one! This is our first ever Turkey Burger and we were hesitant and really didn't think we would care for the texture. Boy were we wrong! This is absolutely delicious. Excellent flavor, great texture and juicy. We grilled these burgers instead of pan frying and I am so happy that we did. The grill flavor mixed with the steak seasoning, BBQ Sauce, Caramelized Onions and Sweet Mayo is perfection. Jalapeno peppers just don't go over well with my family so I left that out. I also did not have the mesquite flavoring so I followed Saveur631 and used a pinch of chipotle and paprika. I used Montreal Steak Seasoning and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce. All of this adds such great bold flavor. I mixed everything up about 2 hours before dinner, shaped the burgers and put them in the fridge. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is awesome! I made half the recipe for the mayo (used only 1/4 tsp cayenne) and still have a little left over. I refuse to throw it away - I will definately find something...ANYthing to put this on. It is sooo good and perfect with the burger and carmelized onions. I used 1 & 1/2 very large vidalia onions to carmelize and it was the perfect amount for us. Using only 1/2 onion would not have done it. Hubby and kids can't stop talking about this one so I know it will be a frequent repeat here this summer. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I used the recipe for the burgers and made stuffed red peppers instead. I cut the tops off red peppers, hallowed out the insides and stuffed with them with the burger mixture. I baked the stuffed peppers at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Extra moisture that accumulates in the peppers can be used to baste the meat, or can by poured out of the peppers at the end. Makes 4 large, fully packed red peppers I couldn't find dry mesquite flavored seasoning mix so I skipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Don't get me wrong, I appreciate a good turkey burger (and this is good), but I'm not sure what made this so tasty -- the burger add-ins or the sauce. I commend the submitter for not adding an egg to the burger mixture (it's a burger, not meatloaf); instead adding the needed moisture to extra lean ground turkey in the form of an onion (grating it is brilliant) as well as the sauces. But I think all of the spices and jalapeno got lost once assembled with the caramelized onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo (which could even make a flip-flop taste good). This is nothing but sloppy, messy burger goodness and I guarantee you will swear it's *not* turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I admit I didn't use turkey, I used a combo of beef and buffalo from Whole Foods. They were amazing!!!!!!!! So amazing, that we have eaten them 3 times in the last week. The spicy sweet mayo is so amazing. We made both sweet potato fries and oven fries with the burgers and both were great with the sauce. We love this recipe- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for the recipe group June, 2011. Overall, very good burgers. I would give this a 4* on the burgs, and definitely a 5* on the sauce. Let's start with the burgers. I made exactly as written, used Montreal for the steak seasoning, Baby Rays Vidallia onion BBQ for the sauce. No mesquite seasoning, so I used a couple of shakes of chipotle and smoked paprika. Formed four nice (small when grilled) burgers, five would be tiny. I placed them in the fridge for a couple of hours prior to grilling to help them set up. On the carmelized onions, I used the other onion half for TWO burgers, if making 4 burgers needs at least an entire onion, more if you like lots o' onion. The sauce makes it, it's to die for. I halved the recipe, and it would be plenty for 4 burgers. Just eyeballed the ingredients, except the cayene, just an 1/8 teaspoon. Very very good sauce. Overall tasty, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These were great! I especially liked the spiced mayo although you can scale by half since it makes far more than you'll need. We are wimps so I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/2 tsp. and it was just right. Hot but not crazy hot. I also omitted the jalepeno pepper from the burger but used a spicy steak seasoning. We had ours with muenster cheese. I think they'd be great with mixed greens, avocado or any other toppings you like. We also used the sauce as a dipping sauce for Grilled Chipotle Sweet Potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
These turkey burgers were awesome!! The best I have ever had. Just the right amount of spiciness. I followed the recipe for the burgers very closely, but happened to be out of liquid smoke, so I left that out. Next time I will add it. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is so yummy, but way too much. I halved the recipe and it was still way more than you will need for 5 burgers. No problem though--it will be great on sandwiches, etc. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States