Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Good recipe...but I have decided that I would rather eat a regular burger once a month than turkey burgers once a week. Or just skip burgers, we rarely eat them anyway. I've tried two or three recipes for turkey burgers now and regardless of great flavor, can't get past the texture. I've made casseroles with Italian turkey sausage and also the Turkey Quinoa Meatloaf and liked both...but the burgers just aren't working for me. No reflection on the recipe...the seasonings, carmelized onions, and sauce are really good, altho I did tone done the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
All my positive feelings were for the caramelized onions and the sauce. I just can't learn to like ground turkey, no matter how much flavor you add to it. I will keep the sauce in mind for other things. Thanks, OC for the chance to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Loved these.. my favorite part was the caramelized onion.. I made an entire onion instead of half so I could really pile them on.. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My hubby loved this, so it's a 5-star recipe in this corner! Now let me tell you all the things I did--both wrong and different. Wrong? When I grated the onion, I grated it right over the turkey. That's wrong. I knew it as soon as I saw the juice gathering at the bottom of the bowl. Melinda Lee, our talkshow host, told us all not to do that! But did I listen? Grate the onion into a separate bowl so the juice can settle and be siphoned off. That's why my next mistake. I still wanted to grill these patties. And they fell through the grate. So I finished them in a pan. Different? We wanted no bread, so we just had the onions and the wonderful sauce (to which I will add the other half of the cayenne for the leftovers--I was being cautious). I served this with sliced deliciously ripe tomatoes and some Cajun Grilled Corn (from this site) so that we could drizzle some of that great sauce over all. It was a wonderful dinner. Thank you for our meal tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were so Good!! Very moist and full of flavor! Just the right amount of spiciness to make them real tasty. If you love heat, you can easily add more spice to make them zippy! Great way to eat a burger, will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Prepared for participation in the Recipe Group this week. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised with this one! This is our first ever Turkey Burger and we were hesitant and really didn't think we would care for the texture. Boy were we wrong! This is absolutely delicious. Excellent flavor, great texture and juicy. We grilled these burgers instead of pan frying and I am so happy that we did. The grill flavor mixed with the steak seasoning, BBQ Sauce, Caramelized Onions and Sweet Mayo is perfection. Jalapeno peppers just don't go over well with my family so I left that out. I also did not have the mesquite flavoring so I followed Saveur631 and used a pinch of chipotle and paprika. I used Montreal Steak Seasoning and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce. All of this adds such great bold flavor. I mixed everything up about 2 hours before dinner, shaped the burgers and put them in the fridge. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is awesome! I made half the recipe for the mayo (used only 1/4 tsp cayenne) and still have a little left over. I refuse to throw it away - I will definately find something...ANYthing to put this on. It is sooo good and perfect with the burger and carmelized onions. I used 1 & 1/2 very large vidalia onions to carmelize and it was the perfect amount for us. Using only 1/2 onion would not have done it. Hubby and kids can't stop talking about this one so I know it will be a frequent repeat here this summer. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
*recipe group selection 06.2011* I rate 3 for the burger, 4 on the sauce. It was pretty good, but not good enough to make me permanently stray from my usual turkey burger. I omitted the jalepeno b/c I don't like them. The sauce was quite good, but hubby and I wouldn't want it every time I made a burger, just a nice change once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group: 18, June '11. Wow what a pleasant surprise this recipe was for my family. My husband does not like ground turkey, in anything. He really liked this burger and asked that we have it again. I did not have mesquite seasoning so I used dry jerk seasoning. After making the patties it seems a little "wet" so I popped them in the freezer for about 30 minutes. We grilled rather than pan fried and they held their shape perfectly. The dressing that goes on the finished burger is FANTASTIC. I only made a half batch after reading reviews on how much it made. The grilled onions were a nice finishing touch. There was one burger left after dinner and my son quickly called "dibbs" for his lunch tomorrow. Thanks Occasional Cooker for sharing your recipe. You made a ground turkey believer out of my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for the recipe group June, 2011. Overall, very good burgers. I would give this a 4* on the burgs, and definitely a 5* on the sauce. Let's start with the burgers. I made exactly as written, used Montreal for the steak seasoning, Baby Rays Vidallia onion BBQ for the sauce. No mesquite seasoning, so I used a couple of shakes of chipotle and smoked paprika. Formed four nice (small when grilled) burgers, five would be tiny. I placed them in the fridge for a couple of hours prior to grilling to help them set up. On the carmelized onions, I used the other onion half for TWO burgers, if making 4 burgers needs at least an entire onion, more if you like lots o' onion. The sauce makes it, it's to die for. I halved the recipe, and it would be plenty for 4 burgers. Just eyeballed the ingredients, except the cayene, just an 1/8 teaspoon. Very very good sauce. Overall tasty, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi everyone. This is my recipe. I wanted to let you know that there will be extra mayo left over that can be used on other sandwiches or other items. About a 1/3 of it would be needed for the burgers. I use Hellman’s low fat mayo that has a great flavor and only 15 calories per serving to cut down on the fat and calories. Also, I used a Dijon course grain mustard and 99% extra lean ground turkey, with Stubbs Original BBQ sauce (because it contains less sugar) but you could also use a mesquite flavored BBQ sauce if you don’t have the dry seasoning or try one of the great substitutions other reviewers used. In addition, I used a Vidalia onion and Montreal Steak Seasoning with McCormick’s Mesquite Grill Seasoning. This is not a packet but in a jar like other spices. AR had changed that ingredient to a packet. If you have never tried a turkey burger, this is the one to try! If you can’t bring yourself to try turkey, make it with ground beef. I made this the other night and switched it up with 93% lean ground beef which is as lean as regular ground turkey and used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. It was delicious also. I hope your family enjoys these burgers as much as mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States