Kickin' Turkey Burger with Caramelized Onions and Spicy Sweet Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
it was not that bad i kinda liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Wow these turkey burgers really are Kickin'! I love turkey burgers and this recipe was no exception. The carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo really took this turkey burger over the top! I used vidalia onion and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I also used Montreal Steak Seasoning and like others who didn't have dry mesquite seasoning on hand I mixed up my own with a bit of smoked paprika (love the stuff) chili powder and cumin. I did cut the back on the amount of spicy sweet mayo - I made half the recipe and even though it's more than enough to cover the burgers it's a great dipping sauce for sweet potato fries or just about anything else you can think of! We grilled these burgers vs. pan frying and served them on toasted rolls with fresh crisp lettuce along with the carmelized onions and spicy sweet mayo! Thanks Occasional Cooker for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I admit I didn't use turkey, I used a combo of beef and buffalo from Whole Foods. They were amazing!!!!!!!! So amazing, that we have eaten them 3 times in the last week. The spicy sweet mayo is so amazing. We made both sweet potato fries and oven fries with the burgers and both were great with the sauce. We love this recipe- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Nice taste - a little dry for me but ive never cooked turkey burgers before so im thinking its more my fault :) will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisher2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Good recipe...but I have decided that I would rather eat a regular burger once a month than turkey burgers once a week. Or just skip burgers, we rarely eat them anyway. I've tried two or three recipes for turkey burgers now and regardless of great flavor, can't get past the texture. I've made casseroles with Italian turkey sausage and also the Turkey Quinoa Meatloaf and liked both...but the burgers just aren't working for me. No reflection on the recipe...the seasonings, carmelized onions, and sauce are really good, altho I did tone done the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
All my positive feelings were for the caramelized onions and the sauce. I just can't learn to like ground turkey, no matter how much flavor you add to it. I will keep the sauce in mind for other things. Thanks, OC for the chance to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Loved these.. my favorite part was the caramelized onion.. I made an entire onion instead of half so I could really pile them on.. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My hubby loved this, so it's a 5-star recipe in this corner! Now let me tell you all the things I did--both wrong and different. Wrong? When I grated the onion, I grated it right over the turkey. That's wrong. I knew it as soon as I saw the juice gathering at the bottom of the bowl. Melinda Lee, our talkshow host, told us all not to do that! But did I listen? Grate the onion into a separate bowl so the juice can settle and be siphoned off. That's why my next mistake. I still wanted to grill these patties. And they fell through the grate. So I finished them in a pan. Different? We wanted no bread, so we just had the onions and the wonderful sauce (to which I will add the other half of the cayenne for the leftovers--I was being cautious). I served this with sliced deliciously ripe tomatoes and some Cajun Grilled Corn (from this site) so that we could drizzle some of that great sauce over all. It was a wonderful dinner. Thank you for our meal tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These were so Good!! Very moist and full of flavor! Just the right amount of spiciness to make them real tasty. If you love heat, you can easily add more spice to make them zippy! Great way to eat a burger, will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Prepared for participation in the Recipe Group this week. Wow! We were pleasantly surprised with this one! This is our first ever Turkey Burger and we were hesitant and really didn't think we would care for the texture. Boy were we wrong! This is absolutely delicious. Excellent flavor, great texture and juicy. We grilled these burgers instead of pan frying and I am so happy that we did. The grill flavor mixed with the steak seasoning, BBQ Sauce, Caramelized Onions and Sweet Mayo is perfection. Jalapeno peppers just don't go over well with my family so I left that out. I also did not have the mesquite flavoring so I followed Saveur631 and used a pinch of chipotle and paprika. I used Montreal Steak Seasoning and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce. All of this adds such great bold flavor. I mixed everything up about 2 hours before dinner, shaped the burgers and put them in the fridge. The Spicy Sweet Mayo is awesome! I made half the recipe for the mayo (used only 1/4 tsp cayenne) and still have a little left over. I refuse to throw it away - I will definately find something...ANYthing to put this on. It is sooo good and perfect with the burger and carmelized onions. I used 1 & 1/2 very large vidalia onions to carmelize and it was the perfect amount for us. Using only 1/2 onion would not have done it. Hubby and kids can't stop talking about this one so I know it will be a frequent repeat here this summer. Thanks for sharing, Occasional Cooker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States