Kickin' London Broil with Bleu Cheese Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Hubby adores bleu cheese, so I had a feeling this would be a winner! I chose to score and marinade my london broil in McCormick's Montreal Steak grilling sauce, which is my favorite way of preparing london broil....so easy and so tasty. Also, I broil the steak for about 10 min. per side instead of grilling. The bleu cheese butter really made it though!! I made the butter a few hours ahead of time so it could sit in the fridge and "blend". Very robust flavor! My husband loved it, he brought the leftovers to work today for lunch, which is always a sure sign of a keeper recipe. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
What a great taste! I have made this about 6 times so far and have found that it's best to put on the rub, then leave the meat to rest for about 30 minutes before grilling. I tried it once without the wait time, and was less satisfied with the results. Also-- use good bleu cheese for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
We have made this twice now both times with sirloin steak. The rub is incredible and the bleu cheese butter is to die for. The combination is great and adding the chives is a definite. I will make sure to do this with other cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Made this last night with cuts of sirloin instead of london broil (was cheaper at the store)! Fantastic! Even my husband, who is iffy about bleu cheese, loved it! We thought it may have been better with some sort of marinade, but was great and juicy without it! We cooked the meat on a grill pan on top of the stove- medhi heat, 4 mins on each side and got a gorgeous medium rare, which is what both of us like (with 1 inch thick cuts). Try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoctorAmelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Everbody loves this recipe. I make a bleu cheese sauce by melting the butter and bleu cheese together and adding some heavy cream. Sometimes I'll add some Merlot or Cabernet to make a bleu cheese/wine sauce. The rub is great and the sauce smooths it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was so delicious. I had a taste for red meat (london broil in particular), and this satisfied my pregnant craving!!! The bleu cheese butter was an excellent addition to the meat...made it spectacular. I microwaved the bleu cheese/butter/chive mixture for about 15 seconds on high b/c I wanted to serve it warm on the meat. Freeze dried chives work just as well as fresh chives. Also, I rubbed the meat down with garlic pepper, which made this especially flavorful. I will be adding this to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is excellent!! It definately added a kick to the steak. I also put it in my mashed potatoes and boy that gave them tons of flavor!! I think it would be great on any veggie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This is a huge hit at my house. It's great for company too. I have cheated and used the Montreal Steak Seasoning and then put the bleu cheese butter on it, it's excellent. Either way, it gets great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
The combination of butter and spices was a HIT! I recommend doubling the bleu cheese, though. Also, definitely add the chives to the spice mix-gives it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
5 stars for the blue cheese butter! I grilled a t-bone with my own seasonings, served w/ asparagus. my picky husband LOVED it! by the way, what/who is a "DH" - i see it in lots of reviews...just wondering!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States