Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I'm a yankee but I love southern cooking and everytime I visit my kids(MS and FL) I try new foods and I absolutly love the collard greens. I was thrilled to find the recipe and they taste like they do down south! excellent!! I might add more than a pinch of red pepper next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I'm not normally a fan of collard greens, but I loved this recipe and really easy to make. I made it last night for a group of people, one from Louisiana who grew up on collards - and loved this version! Another friend would never eat collards, and she too loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Being from the north, I had no idea what to even *do* with collard greens. I used this recipe and found out that not only are they easy to prepare, I like collard greens! This was a great recipe - I used turkey bacon chopped up and cooking spray instead of the olive oil to lessen the calories, but it was still delicious. I'm now a collard green fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This was a delicious way to eat those collards. Thanks for the recipe. It was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
This is a 5 star recipe! It was inexpensive and easy to make and also EXTREMELY DELICIOUS! This recipe was the truest form I could find to the collard greens you can find in the best of kitchens of the South!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Best greens this Kentucky dweller has ever tasted. I made mine with frozen, chopped, turnip greens cooked with less broth, a bit of white vinegar, and lots of extra pepper flakes. Can't wait to try it with fresh greens. Cook with Vidalia Onion, if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I grew up in the south and ate my fair share of collard greens and these are the best I've ever had. The recipe was easy to follow and the results were awesome. I changed peoples minds about eating greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I used a little vinegar with smoked neck bones, and cooked about 1 1/2 hours. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Excellent and easy. I drained mine before serving. Also added lotos of garlic. Mmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Delicious. My boyfriend LOVES collard greens, and he said this was awesome. My family enjoyed it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States