Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've never cooked collards in my life before. Now, I'm going to make them on a regular basis. I actually added the onion and garlic at the same time. And I had a small red jalapeno pepper that I chopped up and added to it. It was so delish, I can't wait to make for a potluck this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME! Tweak as you want--it never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was my first time having collard greens. For a side dish that stars a green, leafy vegetable, this turned out quite good. I could come up with other side dishes that I would prefer, but everyone needs greens in their diet and I would rather have this than some boring salad that offers little nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've never had collard greens before, so I went in search of a recipe and found this. I cut out the bacon altogether and used Knorr chicken homestyle stock diluted in 1/4 cup water, instead of the chicken broth. I didn't want it soupy, so that worked out great. I eliminated the salt (since the broth already had it concentrated in there)and left out red pepper flakes because my kids don't like things spicy. It was terrific! I served it up with steak on the BBQ. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is the bomb! I make as written except for tons more bacon and I cook way longer. I've used frozen but didn't care for them, fresh is the way to go, it's worth the extra time for prep. Thank you for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Excellent!! Make these all the time now..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
We'd never had collards before. Based on the reviews, I decided to try this recipe when I found them on sale at the grocery store. Both my husband and I really enjoyed them! I used real bacon bits instead of sliced bacon since that's what I had on hand. My husband, who avoids anything green, went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I have tons of collards this year and I am always looking for something to do with them. This is now my favorite way to make them. I cook them closer to an hour, and added more than a pinch of the red pepper because I love them HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These rock! I had never cooked collard greens before and these were a real hit. Love the subtle kick these greens have and the bacon flavor was great. Even better left over and reheated perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I have NEVER made greens before in my life... but I needed to bring them to a family dinner. There were NO leftovers... and my mother-in-law said they were better than her Momma's! Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States