Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Amazing!! I used twice the amount of bacon though just is I could use up the bacon. This is simple to make and delicious. I'm so happy no one else in the house likes collard greens. I get to have them all to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My Wife used this recipe with turnip greens and they were wonderful. I am not a big greens eater but I had seconds on these. She did not have olive oil so she used regular oil. Try them, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarara
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Being raised in the mid-late 50's into the 60's, I never experienced Collard Greens. Actually, probably wouldn't have eaten them anyway. I've tried and enjoyed other "unique" to me greens...hence my first time with Collard's. I used homemade chicken stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. I paired it with Fried Chicken Liver from this site. My sister thinks I've gone nuts. Cooking for one...doesn't hardly matters. I personally like this, especially with 8 oz of bacon. The stock plus aromatics etc are reducing now...I need to get my SNL inspired "spittle bucket" out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Cut out ALL the salt!!! I LOVE salt, however, with the broth it needs no more. I did also double the bacon, Vidalia onion, and garlic. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is an awesome recipe to play around with! I personally use the whole package of bacon and it's a definite on adding the brown sugar and vinegar. I also cut up mushrooms in tiny pieces for flavor savors and add stick of butter and two cans of well rinsed great northern beans. People can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie Leigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
First attempt at trying these, they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
okay, I like the taste of spinach better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Loved it. I had chard and used that and it was yummy. I used less broth though and cooked it for a little less time. I also added a bit of brown sugar. It was superb. A few days later I made it with brussel sprouts from the garden (which are similar in flavor to collard greens). I used more broth and cooked them longer. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safika Erselcuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We loved this dish, however with a few minor additions. We took the advice of some of the reviewers and added a few key ingredients. This is what we did: Being Southern, collard greens and bacon are a match made in heaven. It is a must to have enough bacon grease to fry the collards, and give it an amazing taste. Many would use ham hocks for the base, but substituting bacon to get that flavor, we added extra bacon, to the tone of 10 slices. So if you're on a health kick, this isn't necessarily healthy. We skipped the olive oil, and cooked with the bacon grease. We cooked the bacon, partially, took it out, added the onion to the grease, and cooked until soft, but you can caramelize if you would like, then we added the garlic and cooked until fragrant. Next, we added the chopped collards, and cooked until well wilted, added the bacon back, added the chicken broth, salt, pepper, and substituted hot sauce "Tabasco Sauce" in place of the red pepper flakes. This adds a little vinegar without giving it a vinegary flavor. On a side note, the recipe does not call for vinegar, we were confused by all the bad reviews that said it did! We cooked for a good hour, and then felt it needed a little something, so we added 2 TBSP of brown sugar, and this was perfect. We cooked for an additional hour, to soften the collards, because this is a must. These are absolutely delicious, and will definitely be a staple in the household. PS: Be sure to WASH your collards! E Coli is very dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States