Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I am a greens connoisseur & let me just say that although my favorites are slick mustard & turnips these Collards are perfect. I also added smoked ham shanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Used a cast iron Dutch oven . Removed collards from stems . Awesome flavor . I would use this recipe in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Hellstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pdiddy
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I used the bag of collards greens that have the greens pretty cut. My husband doesn't care because they taste sooo good. I used a little more bacon but other than that I followed the instructions. Oh the second time I added a little a little brown sugar as suggested by another reviewer. This is my third time making these greens =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Excellent! I made this for New Year's Day and it was easy and came out so well. The only changes; I used a smoked pork jowl instead of bacon and omitted adding salt because of that. It also simmered for a few hours. I had bought the jowl prior to finding this recipe. I will use bacon next time for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Lanese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I have never eaten greens before and this recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
a very good recipe for collards. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe for New Years dinner and was wary because it was my first time making collards. They were a huge hit! Out of the park. There was only 5 of us and we emptied the pot. Those who love collards and have eaten them for years were thoroughly impressed and went back for seconds and thirds. Like a lot of Southerners we like to add some hot sauce, but even without it, these were delicious. My only modification was I cut down on the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I doubled this recipe using a lb. of turnip greens and a lb. collard greens. It was wonderful. Guests said they were the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is my first time cooking collard greens or any green for that matter. I researched this recipe on a whim while at the market trying to plan a NYE dinner. OMG!!! This recipe is kick a$$. I loved it, my husband loved it, as well as my guests. Never could I imagine that cooking collard greens would be this simple, easy, and quick. Growing up, cooking greens seemed to be an all day event. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I only rated this 4 stars, because like others, found that the amount of bacon was a bit lacking. I used twice the bacon and additional bacon grease instead of the oil. I also added 1 Tbsp of brown sugar and a couple Tbsp of cider vinegar after the onion had carmelized. This works with any type of greens in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States