Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I just finished making this dish and it is great! I followed the recipe pretty much down the line but added a little more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These are just delicious!!! I added extra red pepper flakes. We like spicy around here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Based on others' reviews, I added the apple cider vinegar but not the brown sugar, used the bacon fat to fry the onions and garlic. I also used some applewood smoked sea salt and that was a nice addition of flavor. I simmered for a couple hours on the stove and added the bacon itself later in the cooking. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe. I also added the brown sugar and cider vinegar as recommended. For those of you who don't have chicken stock on hand, are vegetarians, or prefer not to use the red pepper flakes for children, here's a couple of tips. Save the ends as you are cooking other meals from your carrots, onions, and celery. Wash them, pat them dry and put them in a freezer bag. You can add more as you are cooking throughout the week. I use 1 qt. bags, and when one is full I start a new one. Then, add them to water (5-8 qt. pot), bring to a boil, and simmer for about an hour. Strain out the ends, and toss those. You will always have *free* homemade veggie stock on hand! For the heat... When you make your stock, add 3-5 whole, dried red chile peppers, and strain those out with the veggie ends. It will give it a slight *kick*, without the actual flakes in there that may be too hot for children if they bite them. My very picky daughter loves it this way and it's not too hot for her. Great for anytime stock is called for. Just don't add any more heat (peppers), and plan to add salt to taste, as the broth is homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Lots of compliments each time I make this. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe. This was my first experience with collard greens and the recipe was easy to make and very tasty. I used two pieces of extra thick bacon instead of three pieces and the bacon flavor was perfect. I did not add the salt and pepper as I felt there was enough of that in the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is the best recipe for Collards I have found. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I've been using this recipe for over a year. Even my 3 year old loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Maybe I needed to cook them longer and use malt vinegar? I don't know, this dish fell short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States