Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing! I did make a few changes after reading what the other reviewers said. 1.) I cut up the bacon before cooking so I wouldn't need to crumble it later 2.) Omitted the Olive Oil - why do you need that when cooking bacon? 3.) After removing the bacon I poured off a good amount of the grease, and left about 1-2 TBSP to cook my onions and garlic in 4.) I cooked them a VERY long time -the longer the better. Mine were on the stove for about 2.5 hours the night I cooked them and then about another 3 hours the day of the event I was cooking them for. These were hands down the best greens I have ever had. One of the girls at work told me she didn't even like collard greens but she liked mine! I made some cornbread too to dip in the collard juice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Even my picky husband ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent! I did not know that I like Collard Greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rufusss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Best greens I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great! I added a dash of cider vinegar and a tsp. of brown sugar as suggested. I worked with a smaller amount of greens, I think, so I only used 1 cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very good greens recipe. I made it a little easier and faster by using real bacon bits instead of cooking mine before. I also put in some Louisiana hot sauce instead of the pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Yum!! I followed other reviewers suggestions and upped the garlic and added brown sugar. My husband doesn't eat pork, so I substituted turkey bacon. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good. Even better the next day, and then even better after that. I forgot to use the olive oil. But used thick cut bacon. It still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Way too much pepper for me. I did add a splash of apple cider vinegar & 1 tbs of brown sugar. Added another tsp to make it edible bc didn't want to throw out whole batch. I've been looking for collard green recipe: love them when made elsewhere. So dissappointed. I see others triple bacon. Maybe the extra bacon grease masks pepper. I'd also completely destem them in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have prepared these collards fresh and frozen and they are wonderful! I have migraines so I use chicken broth with no MSG and Open Nature bacon that is wonderful to be a non-cured bacon!!! I like the idea of reading the reviewer that says she used 1 tsp of vinegar and and sugar (I did add this last time I prepared)! I will continue to use this recipe!!!! Fabulous! Miss Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States