Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe! I always have a ton of collard greens from the garden and this is a great way to fix them. I just wish there was a way to freeze them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VJ
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made it, awesome! Just added a little more bacon and used beef stock instead chicken stock. Southern greens in Canada, goes great with snow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I thought these were a little salty, but otherwise good. I would omit the extra salt since the bacon, chicken broth and red pepper flakes give it enough seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
No need to improve it. What's that about? It is awesome! Best sauce. (I used low sodium veg broth.) and frozen organic collard greens. Also 3 slices of Canadian bacon. 1st time in years I've used ONE PAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was my first time making greens. I adjusted the recipe for 40 people for a pot luck. I followed the recipe exactly except I mixed mustard, collard and turnip greens and substituted onion powder for the fresh onions. I also added just a bit of old bay seasoning. These were fantastic. There were no leftovers. I'm looking forward to making these again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
For so many of my cooking years I avoided making collard greens. Don’t get me wrong, with collards it was love at first bite. I just thought that not being a southerner mine would never be as good as those I had while traveling. Made as written, these are as good as any I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I cooked the greens 2 hours and also used the bacon fat (and added some olive oil) This is an AWESOME recipe! My first time cooking greens! I know I will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live2Eat!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I just finished making this dish and it is great! I followed the recipe pretty much down the line but added a little more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These are just delicious!!! I added extra red pepper flakes. We like spicy around here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Based on others' reviews, I added the apple cider vinegar but not the brown sugar, used the bacon fat to fry the onions and garlic. I also used some applewood smoked sea salt and that was a nice addition of flavor. I simmered for a couple hours on the stove and added the bacon itself later in the cooking. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States