Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this dish. I first tasted this in Juniors Restaurant in Bklyn and went home and searched for a way to make it. Based on the reviews, I tried it out and was not disappointed. I did not have chicken broth so I substituted for bouillon, only one, since the bacon has enough salt added to the mixture. I must admit I have not tried other recipes so I can't be sure it's the best but it's the only one I have used and plan to use and I have made it at least 4 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I love collard greens and so does my husband. However, this recipe lacked something in the taste. It was too bland. I did omit the olive oil and used the bacon grease and I did add some vinegar in hopes it would give it more taste and added more garlic and red pepper flakes but it still lacked something. If I make this recipe again I will try adding more bacon and some brown sugar as one person suggested but I don't know if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good but too hot. I made it according to the recipe. The second time I made these I added a tbsp. of brown sugar and balsamic vinegar and now give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Best collards ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I followed other reviewers' suggestions by skipping the oil, increasing the bacon, and simmering for a lot longer. The greens definitely got better the longer they cooked. Unfortunately, I didn't have brown sugar to combat the bitterness of the greens. I don't think I would bother making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have made hundreds of collard greens. This one I couldn't get enough of. All my family are native Florida's and that pot was all gone. Might have to double recipe next time. Easy to make and just might be the best greens I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Best collards I have ever had. We used quality hickory smoked bacon that added great favor to the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was my first brush with collard greens and OMG! I loved them. This recipe made a convert out of me! I did make the minor changes that were suggested: more bacon, little brown sugar, splash of vinegar and a longer cooking time! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband loves collard greens, my daughter tolerates them, and I never eat them by choice. I made this recipe as written except that I used about 1 tsp of chili oil as well as the olive oil for cooking the greens. I actually ate a small serving as did my daughter, and my husband ate all the rest and proclaimed them delicious! Something I'll definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Best Greens I ever tasted. The Bacon grease is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States