Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were good but not great. After an hour they still were not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The best! Doubled the bacon and onion and added splash of apple cider vinegar as others suggested. Simmered longer too. What a fabulous recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
@sailshonan - I've been making this recipe for a while now and thought I was making it my own until I read your review. I never saw your review until just now and laughed out loud because that is JUST how I altered it (without the vinegar)!! I don't think it needs it. I love that your mom is from Japan and had an African-American woman teach her this VERY SOUTHERN recipe. The extra bacon and little bit of brown sugar make all of the difference. I omitted the oil as well. The bacon fat makes up for it. I have had nothing but rave reviews from Southerners to Northerners (I live in GA). This is the only recipe I use for collards now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is a great GUIDING recipe! Add your own things to it to make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ake-2-bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I LOVE greens! I must admit I was kind of skeptical as I read this recipe because I cannot imagine greens without ham hocks. I was pleasantly surprised. It was DELICIOUS! I also use Lawry's seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Next time, however, I will definitely incorporate ham hocks into this dish. What can I say? I am set in my ways...this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malcriada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I love this recipe! The red pepper flakes give it just the right amount of heat/flavor. The broth could be cut back a cup or so, even after simmering it for 45 min, there was still a lot of broth. We like to serve them over brown rice with a protein on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellieq123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Omitted the bacon... Made a few changes. I used kale, vegetable broth, added mushrooms and a serrano pepper. It is fantastic and spicy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My first time making collards and I made a double batch, but really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was excellent, I never made collard greens before and I took advice of the other reviewers and added brown sugar and a dash of apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I was doing Thanksgiving dinner formy husbands family and needed to impress them. I made these, nevermaking collard greens before and no one could believe I made them. They where a BIG hit with his family and I get request now to bring them for get togethers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States