Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wshort53
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Love this stuff. I add a little bit of butter and let them simmer for a few hours. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I thought these were awesome, but I put a little country ham instead of bacon. Mmmm, mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Doubled the bacon and used chicken stock instead of broth. Loved it! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
really good! added more bacon next time won't add salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! My method: Microwaved bacon on a paper towel lined plate until crisp 5/6 mins. Threw a ready washed and cut bag of mixed turnip and collard greens into my slow cooker raw. Didn't measure anything. Just threw in the cooked and chopped bacon, chicken broth, crushed red pepper, raw minced garlic,raw chopped Vidalia onion, brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, salt, and pepper. Cooked on low all day while I was at work. Came home to the best tasting greens I've ever had. Served with blackened catfish and cheesy onion rice. This is my new favorite side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I tried kale, collard, romaine and mustard greens with this recipe and hands down each time a 5 star finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This recipe turns out the most delicious collard greens I have ever eaten. If you don't make them correctly, they are bitter to the point where you don't want to eat them. I've tried other recipes, but this one works perfectly. The generous amount of black pepper and pinch of red pepper gives this dish a bit of liveliness. I made one change: I put in half the salt because I felt the bacon added enough salt that a teaspoon seemed like too much. My husband, who usually notices when there is not enough salt, made no comment, so I consider half a teaspoon sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is an amazing recipe for collards and if one loves greens, they will love greens cooked with this recipe. For those who need to watch their cholesterol, use 1 to 2 cups of smoked turkey meat in lieu of the bacon. You won't be disappointed one bit. I've prepared this recipe with both meats and in my opinion, one is just as good as the other. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This was my first attempt at collards and they were SUPER yummy. I added a generous dash of brown sugar as other suggested. SO TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
As this is the first time I have ever made collards from the garden, it was great for a beginner!! I didn't use the red pepper flakes at all and I used onion powder since I forgot to buy the onion. I used bacon bits as the bacon that I had was bad so even with the substitutions it still turned out great!! My husband and daughter both enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Josey Bentley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roberta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States