Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
After seeing an article which claims collard greens can reduce cholesterol 13% more than prescription drugs, have been wanting to try cooking some. Of course, with the bacon used for seasoning, not sure how much good remains but these are really great - the additions of some of the reviewers are necessary to make it so. No olive oil - with all the wonderful bacon drippings (used 6 slices), why? Sauteed the onion and added the garlic in the drippings before adding the bacon back in. Used water and a cube of chicken bouillon in place of broth, as that was on hand. Did not add salt, as there is plenty in the bouillon. Did add about a tablespoon of sugar (mix of white and brown). Cooked all afternoon on low heat, barely simmering. Yummmeee! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
added the brown sugar, apple cider vinegar and a few pieces of extra bacon as suggested by others...wow...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Kenow
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turned out great! I like a bit of tang in mine so after the 45 min cook time, I added 1/3 cup vinegar. I also added a couple more slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Kenow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was wonderful, and easy to make. The collards transform from bitter to tender and mild once cooked. I used a brand of natural bacon called Applewood, which is quite lean and tasty. Used less broth than this, and add a splash of lemon juice or white vinegar at the end. Making them again for a dinner party tonight. Collards cook down - may not serve 6, if you love them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving last year. Since moving to Montana, I have not been able to find greens so as nervous as I was, I tried this recipe. It was SO easy and SO good! I confess I added more bacon than called for, but I pretty much followed the recipe. If you want to try to make your own, use this recipe. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Polensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Mine turned out extremely bitter, so I had to add at least 1/4 cup sugar. I also cooked them for over 2 hours. They finally turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
YUMMY! This was my first attempt at making greens and it was a success. I did make a few substitutions using the fresh mixed greens bag from Trader Joe's (mustard, collard, and turnip greens) beef bacon, vegetable broth (rather than chicken broth), and a little more than a pinch of red pepper flakes. They were spicy but not overbearing. They were not too salty either. My kids loved them. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is my third time making this recipe !!!!! Instead of bacon we used fat back pork and it's awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkiB
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Could not be more delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great! My son said our house smelled like grandma's. There is NO higher compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States