Kickin' Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
really good! added more bacon next time won't add salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! My method: Microwaved bacon on a paper towel lined plate until crisp 5/6 mins. Threw a ready washed and cut bag of mixed turnip and collard greens into my slow cooker raw. Didn't measure anything. Just threw in the cooked and chopped bacon, chicken broth, crushed red pepper, raw minced garlic,raw chopped Vidalia onion, brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, salt, and pepper. Cooked on low all day while I was at work. Came home to the best tasting greens I've ever had. Served with blackened catfish and cheesy onion rice. This is my new favorite side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I tried kale, collard, romaine and mustard greens with this recipe and hands down each time a 5 star finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This recipe turns out the most delicious collard greens I have ever eaten. If you don't make them correctly, they are bitter to the point where you don't want to eat them. I've tried other recipes, but this one works perfectly. The generous amount of black pepper and pinch of red pepper gives this dish a bit of liveliness. I made one change: I put in half the salt because I felt the bacon added enough salt that a teaspoon seemed like too much. My husband, who usually notices when there is not enough salt, made no comment, so I consider half a teaspoon sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This is an amazing recipe for collards and if one loves greens, they will love greens cooked with this recipe. For those who need to watch their cholesterol, use 1 to 2 cups of smoked turkey meat in lieu of the bacon. You won't be disappointed one bit. I've prepared this recipe with both meats and in my opinion, one is just as good as the other. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This was my first attempt at collards and they were SUPER yummy. I added a generous dash of brown sugar as other suggested. SO TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
As this is the first time I have ever made collards from the garden, it was great for a beginner!! I didn't use the red pepper flakes at all and I used onion powder since I forgot to buy the onion. I used bacon bits as the bacon that I had was bad so even with the substitutions it still turned out great!! My husband and daughter both enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Josey Bentley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waynesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roberta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
We loved it! I just did one extra thing and sprinkled some brown sugar in after pouring in the chicken broth. We live in Canada and were thrilled to find the collard greens but had no idea how old they were, so after reading other reviews sprinkled the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I come from a Southern family- but I was raised in Colorado. In the past I wasn't a really big fan of collard greens but these were out of this world good! I made them last night 5/11/2015, I omitted the olive oil and just used the bacon greased...Simply fantastic, so good I kept getting one more serving. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great simple recipe. I didn't have bacon and my husband is vegan anyway so we (me and 7yo daughter) used liquid smoke to give the meaty flavor. THE BOMB! We ate the entire pot that was meant for left overs in ONE NIGHT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternadirah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States