Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Loved it! It's a great spin on one of my favorite comfort foods!!! I substituted cayenne pepper for the hot sauce b/c (surprisingly !!!) I was all out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Great variation on the regular mac n'cheese. I was actually surprised that my kids liked it, even though it was somewhat spicy. And adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is awesome mac & cheese! I made it for our group of adult friends and they've requested it again and again. I use 1 box of pasta, thinking the 1 1/2 cups of pasta on the recipe must be a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Love this! I've made it many times and have found that whichever type/brand of hot sauce you use will really change the final taste. It's been fun to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe is awesome!! We all loved it, even my one-year old. (I did cut back on the hot pepper sauce). I put the chili powder (and a little less) into the sauce and used a mix of 2% and 1% milk. I used more pasta too, probably 2.5 cups and I could have used more, but I like an extra cheesey, saucey sauce opposed to a drier sauce. We had broccoli with this and spooned some of the extra sauce over that. I used radiatore pasta in this and it was wonderful. Shredded my own parm, used Tillamook Pepperjack and Tillamook Extra Sharp Reserve White Cheddar cheese. Used a bit extra of all the cheeses. LOVED it!!! I used crushed garlic croutons in place of bread crumbs and butter. We couldn't get enough. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
So yummy, I'm hooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This recipe came out really nicely. Next time I make it, I'll probably add a bit more to the spice (I'm a spicy foods kinda guy), and will probably leave out the bread crumbs. Other than that, magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
It was really good!! I added some chopped jalepenos and it was superb....spicy but subtle. Also i felt there was too much cheese to mac ratio, so i added another 1/2 cup of macaroni. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Next time I will use about 1/2 box of pasta, and maybe only 1/2 cup of pepper jack + 1/2 cup of monterey jack. very easy, will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was beginning to lose faith in this site until I stumbled upon this recipe. It was GREAT! I did not have any problem with it being too dry as some people did, it was perfect, it even reheats well. I added hamburger meat seasoned with onion, garlic, and chili powders and I really thought it added an extra kick. I also upped the hot sauce and added a dash of cayenne pepper to the cheese sauce. I recommend NOT omitting the chili powder/ bread crumb topping as it made a nice crunchy coating which really is the final touch to this wonderful dish. Thanks so much, will definitely be making this time and time again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States