Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this tonight as a test for a dinner party next weekend. 1. I used 2% instead of whole milk. Do not do this as it breaks and makes for a chalky texture. 2. I used pepper cheddar instead of pepper jack since I had it on hand; probably no significant difference. 3. The pasta amount is definitely a typo. I used more like 2.5 cups. 4. Personally, the hot sauce heat level was fine or too low, but I did not love the vinegar aspect it added. Next time I will do a combo of jalapenos and cayenne. 5. I will add more mustard next time and mix the chili powder into the sauce. 6. I added parmesan to the bread crumb/butter mixture and melted in the microwave instead of in a pan. Worked beautifully and saved me a dish to wash. Overall, this is a really good recipe. I may just have a piggy husband, but 8 servings is debatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is really awesome recipe. I just made it and I ate close to half of the dish (I am sure this makes more than 2 servings...). The only reason I didn't devour it all is because I want to have it again tomorrow, and I used up my ingredients already. I used about 2 to 2 1/4 cups of elbow macaroni. As for the chili, I used sriracha very liberally (4-5 tsp), as well as adding some cayenne pepper (I like things spicy). At the last second I found out my cheddar is unusable, so instead I used 12 oz pepper jack + 4 oz smoked gouda + 1/2 cup parmesan instead. It was delicious! I think I like the pepper jack + smoked gouda combo even more than the cheddar + pepper jack. I figured since smoked gouda is a bit denser than the regular supermarket cheddar this gives to about the right amount. I sprinkled some bread crumbs too though I thought they weren't necessary - the dish is rich enough as it is and baking will give a top layer a nice crunch anyways. Definitely my favorite mac&cheese recipe so far. The texture and creaminess is perfect. This pretty much beats any of the other ones I've had, including at the restaurant (helped by top-quality smoked gouda). Will definitely make this again, and will try out with different cheese combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My fiance and I both enjoyed this recipe very much, we also put the chili powder in the sauce mixture and found it better. A nice variation to a traditional classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
absolutely loved this recipe. my family doesnt love spice so they thought it would be better sans the crazy hottness. but I loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The best Mac and Cheese recipe I have ever tried. The touch of spice was really good. I'll be making this again, even my kid liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delicious! I switched a few ingredients since I didn't have them on hand, but the end result was definitely a spicier version of mac and cheese and I loved it! So much better than the bland versions and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
A bit dry but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and boht my (some what picky) husband and I loved it! The only thing that I changed was that I did not melt the butter to add to the bread crumbs at the end, I just sprinkled bread crumbs & chili powder on the top before baking. Great recipes! We will make again! Hubby even thinks its better than the Twisted Mac N Cheese he orders at hard rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a great baked mac and cheese. I did increase pasta to 3 cups. The casserole was creamy with the promised kick.Not dry at all. Excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
LOVED this recipe. I did use regular pepper and whatever noodles I had on hand and instead of mixing the parmesan in the cheese sauce, i just mixed it with the breading for the top. We LOVED it! Best mac and cheese I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States