Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I had to make this gluten free because I am allergic to wheat, so I used rice macaroni, and potato flour for the rue. So the texture of the macaroni is not a creamy as it would have been using wheat products. I used cayenne instead of pepper sauce so it would not have the vinegar. The taste was scrumptious so I still gave it 5 stars in spite of the texture. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! Everyone loved it. I did add more cheddar cheese because it came in 2cup bags. From kids to adults -Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I used about a cup of heavy cream and the rest was 2% since that is all I had on hand. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The first time I made this my roux looked like a ball of dough, rather than a smooth buttery paste. That's when I noticed the roux proportions were off: roux should be 1 part flour to 1 part butter. 1/4 cup of flour = 4 tbsp flour, so you should be using 4 tbsp butter. The ingredients do list 4 tbsp butter, but then the directions encourage, "melt 2 tablespoons butter, whisk in flour" and reserve the remaining two tbsp butter for the topping later on. Wrong! So! My second go, I used 4 tbsp flour, 4 tbsp butter, on medium low to get the nice smooth paste. I substituted shredded Gruyere for the sharp cheddar (didn't have any on hand) and skipped the butter/breadcrumb/chili powder topping altogether. I also skipped the baking because I wanted a creamy, hot, stovetop version. Thought the sauce ended up a bit bland (I like hot) and runny, so I mixed in about 1 tbsp of the chili powder I ignored earlier and a little Worcestershire, plus a bit more Sriracha. Let it sit over medium heat without stirring to thicken it up for a few minutes, then I dumped the creamy sauce all over my pot of cooked elbows and stirred. OH GOD, now that was good. Minus a star for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Heck yes. Only I went more bad and subbed cheddar for Mango Fire Cheddar. It went over beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I made the recipe just as written and we all loved it. We really enjoyed the little zing from the pepper jack and the hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Really great as is! Perfect amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was fantastic with a tiny modifications. Instead of using hot pepper sauce, I cooked two jalapenos with some ham and added it to the sauce just before adding the pasta. Just delicious. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was good, much like another version I've made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Fabulous.. will pass on recipe... soooooooooo good, thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States