Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The first time I made this my roux looked like a ball of dough, rather than a smooth buttery paste. That's when I noticed the roux proportions were off: roux should be 1 part flour to 1 part butter. 1/4 cup of flour = 4 tbsp flour, so you should be using 4 tbsp butter. The ingredients do list 4 tbsp butter, but then the directions encourage, "melt 2 tablespoons butter, whisk in flour" and reserve the remaining two tbsp butter for the topping later on. Wrong! So! My second go, I used 4 tbsp flour, 4 tbsp butter, on medium low to get the nice smooth paste. I substituted shredded Gruyere for the sharp cheddar (didn't have any on hand) and skipped the butter/breadcrumb/chili powder topping altogether. I also skipped the baking because I wanted a creamy, hot, stovetop version. Thought the sauce ended up a bit bland (I like hot) and runny, so I mixed in about 1 tbsp of the chili powder I ignored earlier and a little Worcestershire, plus a bit more Sriracha. Let it sit over medium heat without stirring to thicken it up for a few minutes, then I dumped the creamy sauce all over my pot of cooked elbows and stirred. OH GOD, now that was good. Minus a star for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Heck yes. Only I went more bad and subbed cheddar for Mango Fire Cheddar. It went over beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I made the recipe just as written and we all loved it. We really enjoyed the little zing from the pepper jack and the hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Really great as is! Perfect amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was fantastic with a tiny modifications. Instead of using hot pepper sauce, I cooked two jalapenos with some ham and added it to the sauce just before adding the pasta. Just delicious. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was good, much like another version I've made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Fabulous.. will pass on recipe... soooooooooo good, thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is absolutely a great recipe, creamy and very tasty. The best I have ever made, I just made a couple of changes in the type of cheeses I used. I used asiago cheese and a little swiss and the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Wish I could give a 3 and a half, it was good and something different, just didn't knock my socks off. It took a lot of time to make and it tasted the best right out of the oven. Since there's only three of us, we had a ton left over, and unfortunately it didn't reheat really great. The texture was a little grainy instead of smooth. It was worth trying, but I'm going to keep looking for a favorite homemade mac n' cheese recipe... this one wasn't right for me. I'm bummed because I was excited to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunamadre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
pretty decent...the bread crumbs and the Parmesan cheese i felt make the texture a bit grainy and i didnt care for that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States