Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a great baked mac and cheese. I did increase pasta to 3 cups. The casserole was creamy with the promised kick.Not dry at all. Excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
LOVED this recipe. I did use regular pepper and whatever noodles I had on hand and instead of mixing the parmesan in the cheese sauce, i just mixed it with the breading for the top. We LOVED it! Best mac and cheese I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was very good! I felt there was way too much cheese compared to the amount of pasta it called for so I ended up boiling more for a total between 2 and 2 1/4 cups. I didn't have parmesan so I ended up using romano instead. I also threw in some diced tomatoes which added a bit of extra flavor. Next time will also throw in some diced chilis. Overall, very good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Wonderful. Another crowd pleaser in a family of 5 with varied taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Hyperpuppy, I bow to your cooking genius. How I wish I could give this one ten stars. It is that good, folks. If you like traditional comfort food with a big twist, this is your ticket right here. I added some Oscar Mayer bacon bits. For my own personal tastes the next time I make this, I will add another 1/2 cup milk. I will also add the chili powder to the cheese mixture. I think I tasted too much chili powder. Otherwise this is my favorite recipe from this webstie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smt10131969

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Used Whole Wheat flour (trying to get away from the bleached flours) and it originally turned out soupy. Used Rotini pasta, because that was all I had. Had to double the pasta, but other than that, really good. Could use something for crunch, like peppers. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Great creaminess and overall texture. The flavor was well worth it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Great! I left out the hot sauce, have kids, but did everything else pretty much the same. I used 16oz box of elbows, and it was perfect for the amount of sauce. I used cheddar and colby jack cheese, all I had, with the parmesan and didn't have any clumping problems. Tasty. Definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I thought this was good. I didn't follow the recipe exactly so my rating might be higher had I done so. I used 2 cups of macaroni, 2 teaspoons of hot pepper sauce, and 1 teaspoon of chili powder. I also only had regular jack cheese, but I added some diced jalapenos. I put the pasta in the casserole dish and poured the sauce over it. I reserved about 3/4 of a cup of sauce because the 2 qt. casserole dish was very full. When I reheat the leftovers I will use the leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
As I'm eating leftovers for the third day in a row on this one, I have to say, this was delicious. I accidentally doubled the mustard, but it still turned out great, and I did use a whole box of pasta after seeing the reviews and noting how much sauce I had. Delicious. I'm on the mission to create the perfect mac & cheese, so I'll continue experimenting, but this was a perfect start to me and I'm pumped to use some of the ingredients here. Also - I used a combo of panko and italian breadcrumbs for the topping. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States