Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Wonderful. Another crowd pleaser in a family of 5 with varied taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Hyperpuppy, I bow to your cooking genius. How I wish I could give this one ten stars. It is that good, folks. If you like traditional comfort food with a big twist, this is your ticket right here. I added some Oscar Mayer bacon bits. For my own personal tastes the next time I make this, I will add another 1/2 cup milk. I will also add the chili powder to the cheese mixture. I think I tasted too much chili powder. Otherwise this is my favorite recipe from this webstie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smt10131969

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Used Whole Wheat flour (trying to get away from the bleached flours) and it originally turned out soupy. Used Rotini pasta, because that was all I had. Had to double the pasta, but other than that, really good. Could use something for crunch, like peppers. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Great creaminess and overall texture. The flavor was well worth it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Great! I left out the hot sauce, have kids, but did everything else pretty much the same. I used 16oz box of elbows, and it was perfect for the amount of sauce. I used cheddar and colby jack cheese, all I had, with the parmesan and didn't have any clumping problems. Tasty. Definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I thought this was good. I didn't follow the recipe exactly so my rating might be higher had I done so. I used 2 cups of macaroni, 2 teaspoons of hot pepper sauce, and 1 teaspoon of chili powder. I also only had regular jack cheese, but I added some diced jalapenos. I put the pasta in the casserole dish and poured the sauce over it. I reserved about 3/4 of a cup of sauce because the 2 qt. casserole dish was very full. When I reheat the leftovers I will use the leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
As I'm eating leftovers for the third day in a row on this one, I have to say, this was delicious. I accidentally doubled the mustard, but it still turned out great, and I did use a whole box of pasta after seeing the reviews and noting how much sauce I had. Delicious. I'm on the mission to create the perfect mac & cheese, so I'll continue experimenting, but this was a perfect start to me and I'm pumped to use some of the ingredients here. Also - I used a combo of panko and italian breadcrumbs for the topping. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was amazing - the compliment I got was "steakhouse worthy". I did use 1% and 2% milk instead of whole, and I left off the crumb topping and instead put a little extra cheese on top (left off the extra butter and added the red pepper to the mac). Towards the end of the baking, I turned on the broiler to get a nice brown/crispy layer. Had great flavor and will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was beginning to lose faith in this site until I stumbled upon this recipe. It was GREAT! I did not have any problem with it being too dry as some people did, it was perfect, it even reheats well. I added hamburger meat seasoned with onion, garlic, and chili powders and I really thought it added an extra kick. I also upped the hot sauce and added a dash of cayenne pepper to the cheese sauce. I recommend NOT omitting the chili powder/ bread crumb topping as it made a nice crunchy coating which really is the final touch to this wonderful dish. Thanks so much, will definitely be making this time and time again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Really great mac and cheese in a more "adult" way. We really kicked up the spice, and it was a huge potluck hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States