Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe is awesome!! We all loved it, even my one-year old. (I did cut back on the hot pepper sauce). I put the chili powder (and a little less) into the sauce and used a mix of 2% and 1% milk. I used more pasta too, probably 2.5 cups and I could have used more, but I like an extra cheesey, saucey sauce opposed to a drier sauce. We had broccoli with this and spooned some of the extra sauce over that. I used radiatore pasta in this and it was wonderful. Shredded my own parm, used Tillamook Pepperjack and Tillamook Extra Sharp Reserve White Cheddar cheese. Used a bit extra of all the cheeses. LOVED it!!! I used crushed garlic croutons in place of bread crumbs and butter. We couldn't get enough. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this tonight as a test for a dinner party next weekend. 1. I used 2% instead of whole milk. Do not do this as it breaks and makes for a chalky texture. 2. I used pepper cheddar instead of pepper jack since I had it on hand; probably no significant difference. 3. The pasta amount is definitely a typo. I used more like 2.5 cups. 4. Personally, the hot sauce heat level was fine or too low, but I did not love the vinegar aspect it added. Next time I will do a combo of jalapenos and cayenne. 5. I will add more mustard next time and mix the chili powder into the sauce. 6. I added parmesan to the bread crumb/butter mixture and melted in the microwave instead of in a pan. Worked beautifully and saved me a dish to wash. Overall, this is a really good recipe. I may just have a piggy husband, but 8 servings is debatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Hyperpuppy, I bow to your cooking genius. How I wish I could give this one ten stars. It is that good, folks. If you like traditional comfort food with a big twist, this is your ticket right here. I added some Oscar Mayer bacon bits. For my own personal tastes the next time I make this, I will add another 1/2 cup milk. I will also add the chili powder to the cheese mixture. I think I tasted too much chili powder. Otherwise this is my favorite recipe from this webstie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smt10131969

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is awesome mac & cheese! I made it for our group of adult friends and they've requested it again and again. I use 1 box of pasta, thinking the 1 1/2 cups of pasta on the recipe must be a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was amazing - the compliment I got was "steakhouse worthy". I did use 1% and 2% milk instead of whole, and I left off the crumb topping and instead put a little extra cheese on top (left off the extra butter and added the red pepper to the mac). Towards the end of the baking, I turned on the broiler to get a nice brown/crispy layer. Had great flavor and will DEFINITELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe came out REALLY dry. After second thought, I'm not really sure why the baking time was so long--I think that's what dried out the cheese. Kinda disappointing texture after seeing the great reviews. Next time, I'll add alot more cheese and cook less because I did really love how spicy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
As I'm eating leftovers for the third day in a row on this one, I have to say, this was delicious. I accidentally doubled the mustard, but it still turned out great, and I did use a whole box of pasta after seeing the reviews and noting how much sauce I had. Delicious. I'm on the mission to create the perfect mac & cheese, so I'll continue experimenting, but this was a perfect start to me and I'm pumped to use some of the ingredients here. Also - I used a combo of panko and italian breadcrumbs for the topping. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This makes an excellent change from basic mac&cheese. I used about 3/4 of a box of elbow macaroni, then cut the hot sauce down to 1 teaspoon and added a can of Rotel tomatoes to compensate...yum! This reheats well with an extra splash of milk. Next time I'll leave off the breadcrumbs since I don't think that really added anything, and throw in some ground beef for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Great variation on the regular mac n'cheese. I was actually surprised that my kids liked it, even though it was somewhat spicy. And adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Loved it! It's a great spin on one of my favorite comfort foods!!! I substituted cayenne pepper for the hot sauce b/c (surprisingly !!!) I was all out!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Old-Fashioned Mac and Cheese

See how to make a cheesy, kid-friendly favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States