Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Was a good recipe, but as noted needed a bit more sauce. I reserved a bit of the pasta water and used that. The topping was great with the chili powder! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great receipe. I did add in some (to your taste) onion flakes and 2 tblsp granulated garlic., as well as for extra kick 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes. It has an unbelievable cheese taste. Also it did not put bake it or add the bread crumbs or chili powder in. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I usually don't rate recipes because I change them so much, but made this last night it was wonderful, like things with a kick to it. Did use panko bread crumbs and ceyanne pepper for the topping. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Finally mac & cheese with flavor. Did a couple of subs: used 1 T of dijon instead of dry mustard; used panko instead of regular bread crumbs; & did 1 C mexican 4-cheese mix & 1 C shredded cheddar jack. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Hafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a nice twist on regular mac and cheese! The spice in the sauce was really good and the chili powder mixed in the bread crumbs was a nice compliment. I made the recipe as is except I used a one lb box of elbow macaroni and increased the pepper jack to 1-1/2 cups. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Really good and I mix up Kielbasa slices into it so its that much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
is it me? I made this as the recipe said, I did not care for this mac and cheese. Gritty, too much vingery taste from the hot sauce. i won't be making this again, ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Actually 4 1/2, but that's not an option. I've been searching for the perfect mac n'cheese recipe for YEAR. This recipe is ALMOST perfect. I'm still searching for a CREAMY mac and cheese and haven't found it yet, but the flavors in this one are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I took this recipe and changed a few things and it turned out amazing! I used 2 tsp of dry mustard, doubled the hot sauce and used double cayenne instead of chili powder since I didn't have any. I also didn't have pepper jack so I used double the sharp cheese and parmesean. Then something my family uses for topping is ritz crackers crumbled instead of bread crumbs. It was pretty good for my first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truudster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Totally yummy....such a simple tasty recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States