Kicked Up Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was delicious! I used Dijon instead of dry mustard for more flavor. Would be great with jalepenos and bacon for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I liked it, but my boyfriend isn't sold on it. I did cut it in half and was less than precise in measuring. We both thought it was dry, and I thought it had lots of peppery taste, but not enough cheese taste. IF I make it again, I will make a full amount of cheese sauce for half the amount of pasta. Plus I'll add more cheddar cheese. But I won't bother making it for my boyfriend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I can finally have mac'n cheese again! My husband said ordinary mac'n cheese was too blah, and wouldn't have it, but he loved this. It's great comfort food, and I share this with lots of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
It seems like the taste is good but I'm not sure if it's me or the cheese used but I made this twice and it wasn't as creamy as I would have liked and actually broke down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
A big hit. I don't eat everything I cook (and mac and cheese is one of those things), but I have made this many times for picnics and small dinners, and it's always a hit. My daughter, away at college, actually called me to get this recipe... and that's a first! She's not much into cooking yet, but she and her roommates wanted to make mac/cheese, and she remembered this recipe! My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was delicious. I followed the recipe pretty much as it's written. I did use a whole box of pasta though. As some users mentioned, I think it could do without the breadcrumbs, because I really don't think it added much flavor wise. I did put some extra cheddar over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made some variations based on what I had available. Here is my version: Ingredients: 2 cups elbow pasta 4 tablespoons butter, divided 1/4 cup all-purpose flour 3 cups skim milk (fresh from local farm) 1 teaspoon dry mustard 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoons ground cayenne pepper 1/4 cup shredded mild blue cheese 1 1/2 cups shredded white LIVAROT or something very similar to this. (ripped off the label and can't remember the name, but it is considered a stinky cheese and has a mild flavor. Or Havarti will work, but you'll have to cut it up because it's too soft to shred.) 1/2 cup grated 5 yr aged GRUYERE 1 medium clove chopped shallot 1/3 cup chopped onion 1-3 cloves garlic 1 teaspoons ground cayenne pepper Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Cook pasta until al dente; drain. In a small saucepan melt 2 tablespoons butter, add in shallots, onions and garlic simmer until caramelized. Once caramelized stir in 1 tsp cayenne powder. In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt 2 tablespoons butter. Whisk in flour and cook, stirring, 1 minute. A little at a time, whisk in milk, mustard, salt, pepper and hot sauce. Bring to a gentle boil, stirring constantly. Boil 1 minute, then remove from heat and whisk in shredded cheeses until smooth. Stir in cooked pasta and pour into shallow 2 quart baking dish. Sprinkle shallot mixture over macaroni mixture. Bake in preheated oven 30 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is the 3rd homemade mac and cheese recipe I have made and have not cared for. The texture just throws me off. I use quality cheese and grate it myself so I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Maybe I'm just not meant for it! Guess I'm just gonna stick to the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Amazing! I added smoked turkey sausage to make it an entrée. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Wow! Excellent. I use red pepper instead of pepper sauce as reviewers suggest...but otherwise its perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States