Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This rice pudding is so creamy and flavorful! A new favorite:-) The rosewater and cardamon really make it stand out. It does thicken up quite a lot in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Just delicious! perfect blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I think this is my new favorite dessert. Did not use rose water and instead of cardamom I used about a teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg and a pinch of grated ginger. Rice boiled about 40 minutes to get tender. I'm glad I read the reviews so I knew not to wait until all of the milk was absorbed. I refrigerated it overnight and the texture the next day was perfect. I served it with bowls of toasted coconut and almonds. All the ladies of my book club enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. This was great, subtly sweet. You could even have this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffyw410
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this to bring to friends' Indian themed dinner. Really lovely texture, just the right sweetness, and a divine aroma. Used almost exact recipe except used vanilla sugar (sugar stored with vanilla bean in it), couldn't find rosewater, and had whole cardamom what I steeped in the milk. Took the recommendation of others to simmer for closer to an hour. Served chilled. Garnished with toasted almonds and dusting of Saigon Cinnamon Made 6, 1/2 cup servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I love Kheer, and I loved this recipe. I added a bit of vanilla and used only pistachios (was out of almonds) but otherwise made as written. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I didn't have rose water, but as suggested by another reviewer, I used vanilla extract instead. Used seven cardamom pods and didn't have crushed pistachios so left them out unfortunately. I think I might have cooked it ten or so minutes longer than called for as it was a bit thick, but I prefer it to be a bit thicker anyway. Very rich and creamy if you use whole coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This had a nice flavor but took much longer to cook than suggested. It's important to eat it right away, though, as it becomes thick and heavy if you wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
So, I tried this recipe, mind you I have grown up eating kheer. A few things, I saw some of you mentioned about cooking time, what I did different was put this on high heat instead of low. It was done in a reasonable time. My problem didn't have enough milk in the house. Anyway, I added toasted coconut shavings (did them on stove top before making the kheer) and nutmeg powder as one of the reviewers recommended. Also I have a horrible sweet tooth, so I added a little more than 1/4 cup of sugar to this recipe. you don't really need coconut milk, made this with whole milk brought at gas station.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nnmehta

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States