Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I always crave kheer during Ramadan. This recipe satisfied my craving but was bit thick. My recommendation would be to make a much as you will use on the same day. Refrigeration made it even thicker. Tried to bring it back to life by adding milk but not successful. Still a wonderful kheer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Delicious...could not wait for it to cool down, ate it hot and it was so darn good, i kept on eating it! I make a traditional rice pudding but this KHEER recipe is so easy and utterly fantastic with the coconut milk, cardamom and rosewater. Used some golden raisins as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
If you add sugar to milk before putting rice in milk, you will have tough time to cook rice.. So add rice first, once it is cooked and mashed properly, then sugar has to be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
The cooking time really needs to be much longer. If you don't favor thinner Indian Kheer, you might prefer to use about 3/4 cup of rice. I added a little bit of nutmeg as well. Overall, good if you adjust cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I used 2 cups cooked rice and added an extra cup of milk. Also added a pinch of nutmeg cinnamon and 2 tbsp of honey to spice things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
very forgiving and delicious dessert- refrigerating it overnight lets it thicken naturally. I did use one can of coconut milk adjusted the other liquid to compensate - getting the solid/liquid ratio is important (too thick the next day can always be thinned with milk, tool liquidy needs some straining). I also used almond milk for the anti-real milk people and it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I had a root canal today, and wanted something warm and soft to eat. This was out of this world, in taste. Not only did I love this but my whole family was saying that this is a keeper. Maybe like what the others said, it might not be traditional. But honestly, this is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Hagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made this lots of times. It's great. I use waaaaay more sugar than the recipe call for because I like it sweet, and I also heavy up on the cardamom and rosewater at the end. It doesn't make a perceptible difference in flavor or texture when I've used regular coconut milk or light, or skim or regular milk for that matter. Don't use Splenda -- I tried that and the aftertaste is noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Remembering that dreaded rice pudding that reigned in the British public school era of my time, where the only thing worth eating was the blacked crust on the top, I wasn't sure I wanted to make this. The husband said he LOVED rice pudding .. and why didn't I make him more "puddings" and why .. why ... why... So I did! First I thought .. why use good basmati for a rice pudding but then I thought .. heck .. give it a chance! Result? I don't care if it's hot, cool or chilled. I don't care if it's creamy, runny or thick. I don't care how it should be in India or London or Eastern Bankok. This stuff is just plain good! Now .. that one we called "frog spawn" .. not sure I want to try a tarted up version of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I made slight changes following and adjusting others recommendations . I added condensed milk, doubled the cardamom , added almond extract, and diced up some dates instead of raising plus cooked it for 75 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanairi ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States