Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
very forgiving and delicious dessert- refrigerating it overnight lets it thicken naturally. I did use one can of coconut milk adjusted the other liquid to compensate - getting the solid/liquid ratio is important (too thick the next day can always be thinned with milk, tool liquidy needs some straining). I also used almond milk for the anti-real milk people and it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I had a root canal today, and wanted something warm and soft to eat. This was out of this world, in taste. Not only did I love this but my whole family was saying that this is a keeper. Maybe like what the others said, it might not be traditional. But honestly, this is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Hagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made this lots of times. It's great. I use waaaaay more sugar than the recipe call for because I like it sweet, and I also heavy up on the cardamom and rosewater at the end. It doesn't make a perceptible difference in flavor or texture when I've used regular coconut milk or light, or skim or regular milk for that matter. Don't use Splenda -- I tried that and the aftertaste is noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Remembering that dreaded rice pudding that reigned in the British public school era of my time, where the only thing worth eating was the blacked crust on the top, I wasn't sure I wanted to make this. The husband said he LOVED rice pudding .. and why didn't I make him more "puddings" and why .. why ... why... So I did! First I thought .. why use good basmati for a rice pudding but then I thought .. heck .. give it a chance! Result? I don't care if it's hot, cool or chilled. I don't care if it's creamy, runny or thick. I don't care how it should be in India or London or Eastern Bankok. This stuff is just plain good! Now .. that one we called "frog spawn" .. not sure I want to try a tarted up version of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I made slight changes following and adjusting others recommendations . I added condensed milk, doubled the cardamom , added almond extract, and diced up some dates instead of raising plus cooked it for 75 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanairi ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This rice pudding is so creamy and flavorful! A new favorite:-) The rosewater and cardamon really make it stand out. It does thicken up quite a lot in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Just delicious! perfect blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I think this is my new favorite dessert. Did not use rose water and instead of cardamom I used about a teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg and a pinch of grated ginger. Rice boiled about 40 minutes to get tender. I'm glad I read the reviews so I knew not to wait until all of the milk was absorbed. I refrigerated it overnight and the texture the next day was perfect. I served it with bowls of toasted coconut and almonds. All the ladies of my book club enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. This was great, subtly sweet. You could even have this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffyw410
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this to bring to friends' Indian themed dinner. Really lovely texture, just the right sweetness, and a divine aroma. Used almost exact recipe except used vanilla sugar (sugar stored with vanilla bean in it), couldn't find rosewater, and had whole cardamom what I steeped in the milk. Took the recommendation of others to simmer for closer to an hour. Served chilled. Garnished with toasted almonds and dusting of Saigon Cinnamon Made 6, 1/2 cup servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States