Kheer (Rice Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I had a root canal today, and wanted something warm and soft to eat. This was out of this world, in taste. Not only did I love this but my whole family was saying that this is a keeper. Maybe like what the others said, it might not be traditional. But honestly, this is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Hagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made this lots of times. It's great. I use waaaaay more sugar than the recipe call for because I like it sweet, and I also heavy up on the cardamom and rosewater at the end. It doesn't make a perceptible difference in flavor or texture when I've used regular coconut milk or light, or skim or regular milk for that matter. Don't use Splenda -- I tried that and the aftertaste is noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Remembering that dreaded rice pudding that reigned in the British public school era of my time, where the only thing worth eating was the blacked crust on the top, I wasn't sure I wanted to make this. The husband said he LOVED rice pudding .. and why didn't I make him more "puddings" and why .. why ... why... So I did! First I thought .. why use good basmati for a rice pudding but then I thought .. heck .. give it a chance! Result? I don't care if it's hot, cool or chilled. I don't care if it's creamy, runny or thick. I don't care how it should be in India or London or Eastern Bankok. This stuff is just plain good! Now .. that one we called "frog spawn" .. not sure I want to try a tarted up version of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I made slight changes following and adjusting others recommendations . I added condensed milk, doubled the cardamom , added almond extract, and diced up some dates instead of raising plus cooked it for 75 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanairi ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This rice pudding is so creamy and flavorful! A new favorite:-) The rosewater and cardamon really make it stand out. It does thicken up quite a lot in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Just delicious! perfect blend of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I think this is my new favorite dessert. Did not use rose water and instead of cardamom I used about a teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg and a pinch of grated ginger. Rice boiled about 40 minutes to get tender. I'm glad I read the reviews so I knew not to wait until all of the milk was absorbed. I refrigerated it overnight and the texture the next day was perfect. I served it with bowls of toasted coconut and almonds. All the ladies of my book club enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. This was great, subtly sweet. You could even have this for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffyw410
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this to bring to friends' Indian themed dinner. Really lovely texture, just the right sweetness, and a divine aroma. Used almost exact recipe except used vanilla sugar (sugar stored with vanilla bean in it), couldn't find rosewater, and had whole cardamom what I steeped in the milk. Took the recommendation of others to simmer for closer to an hour. Served chilled. Garnished with toasted almonds and dusting of Saigon Cinnamon Made 6, 1/2 cup servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I love Kheer, and I loved this recipe. I added a bit of vanilla and used only pistachios (was out of almonds) but otherwise made as written. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States