Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe is a hit with family and friends. It's great for the holidays too. I use a light cream and some milk instead of the heavy cream. Leftovers are even better tasting; just add a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I brought this as a contribution to a potluck Christmas dinner and it was demolished. What I loved the most is that I made it 5 hours before which took the pressure off the rest of the day. Some things I changed a bit. I sauteed sun dried tomatoes, julienne d from a packet(couldn't find them in a jar) w/ 1lb scallops, & what I thought was a 14oz jar of marinated artichokes but what turned out to be a 14oz jar of marinated Mediterranean Blend, a blend of artichokes, roasted red / green peppers, & baby corns. I removed the baby corns & added everything else. I could only find the size shrimp I wanted (medium) precooked so I added that to the saute at the end just long enough to take on the flavors. I added my cream & cheese and simmered till it thickened, than turned my pasta in to that. I moved it to my crock pot and let it set on the counter unplugged till just warm. About an hour before we left I plugged it in on low, added a splash of milk, and gently turned it with a lg spoon. I repeated that when we got there. I never had to turn it up past low. It was creamy and delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to spice it up. The recipe doesn't address spice & it felt right to add freshly ground sea salt & pepper, 1 tsp garlic powder, & 2 tsp ea. dried basil / oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I cooked this for a friend last night and she said it was great! My only additions to this recipe was adding crushed garlic, basil and black pepper. I will definetly be serving this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this at the last minute, I didnt have the sundried tomatoes or the olives so I expected it to be maybe a little bland but it was delicious, rich, cheesy and anything but bland. I did think the scallops were way overpowered, but I used bay scallops (the small ones) so maybe sea scallops would have been a better choice in that respect but it still tased great. Also this was my first time preparing shrimp and they came out perfect. My boyfriend requested I make this again after the first few bites and he even had seconds, which is rare. Great recipie, thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was very good, and easy to prepare. I doubled the shrimp, added chopped garlic, and used a small amount of alcohol free white wine. Used FF H&H with cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
My gosh this was good! I didn't have the olives so I omitted them. My family including my five year old son, loved this dish and so did I! I will make this again. There were plenty of it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is one of our favorite meals, but it makes a lot so you might want to cut the recipe in half. My husband made this for the first time the night he proposed to me. He loved it so much that he asks for it all the time now. It is very rich though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe... I sauteed garlic before the shrimp, and omitted the scallops totally. I also omitted the olives and used grape tomatoes instead on sun-dried (I'm not a fan) and added baby spinach toward the end. It is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
My DH keeps mentioning this recipe. He loved it! This made us feel like we were able to eat delicious restaurant food at our own kitchen table. This was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Really tasty... found I didn't quite have enough sauce so had to whip up a little something else for the left overs. A couple changes, we're not fans of olives so we took those out. Drained the sundried tomatoes (only used a bit of the oil). Chopped those and the artichokes into smaller pieces. Instead of cream I used milk with cornstarch, and about a 1/4 cup of white wine. (Would have added more but it was all I had left!) Added garlic! Was a bit bland before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States