Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I cannot rate on the original, since I didn't have a few vital things (its not fair, but I'm sure it would have gotten 5 stars anyways!). I encourage you to try it even if missing some things. I had no artichocke hearts or olives. I used all shrimp, a little less cheese. I put about a tbs of butter in with shrimp and 2 tsp of minced garlic before adding cream. Also, my sundried tomatoes were dried so I blended them with some olive oil and let sit 10 minutes before adding. It was so delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Delicious recipe! Served over bowtie pasta. Didn't use olives for personal preference, but the artichokes were a hit! Didn't have sundried tomatoes, so added a couple spoonfuls of sundried tomato pesto I had in the pantry and the flavor was a great addition. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This one is a keeper, my kids and husband love this! I did sub the heavy cream for fat free half and half very tasty and left over even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Hogan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! I did substitute the FF 1/2 & 1/2 and it turned out GREAT!!! It does make QUITE a bit- but leftovers were just as good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My neighbor made this recipe tonight and called after they were done to see if we had eaten because they had so much left over - and boy was I glad!!! My husband and I had very hearty portions after they did the same, plus she had left overs for lunches tomorrow. This recipe is excellent - and she even used fat free half and half. Can't wait to make it myself!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The only difference I have made to this dish is the addition of diced onions and red, green and yellow peppers. This has become a weekly dinner request. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Delicious! I used the bay scallops, next time I will cut the shrimp down a bit and use regular scallops - this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
It seemed to taste better the following day after a quick zap in the microwave. I think all of the cheese made me feel that it was too fattening to fully enjoy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe is a hit with family and friends. It's great for the holidays too. I use a light cream and some milk instead of the heavy cream. Leftovers are even better tasting; just add a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I brought this as a contribution to a potluck Christmas dinner and it was demolished. What I loved the most is that I made it 5 hours before which took the pressure off the rest of the day. Some things I changed a bit. I sauteed sun dried tomatoes, julienne d from a packet(couldn't find them in a jar) w/ 1lb scallops, & what I thought was a 14oz jar of marinated artichokes but what turned out to be a 14oz jar of marinated Mediterranean Blend, a blend of artichokes, roasted red / green peppers, & baby corns. I removed the baby corns & added everything else. I could only find the size shrimp I wanted (medium) precooked so I added that to the saute at the end just long enough to take on the flavors. I added my cream & cheese and simmered till it thickened, than turned my pasta in to that. I moved it to my crock pot and let it set on the counter unplugged till just warm. About an hour before we left I plugged it in on low, added a splash of milk, and gently turned it with a lg spoon. I repeated that when we got there. I never had to turn it up past low. It was creamy and delicious. The only suggestion I would make is to spice it up. The recipe doesn't address spice & it felt right to add freshly ground sea salt & pepper, 1 tsp garlic powder, & 2 tsp ea. dried basil / oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States