Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was really delicious! I had to make a few adjustments; Rotini instead of Penne, and I omitted the shrimp because I don't care for it. My parents LOVED it and told me "it's a keeper!" I agree, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really liked this - probably would have been better with the real cream but I used half and half. Sadly, the rest of my family doesn't care for artichokes so I don't get to cook with them very often. I thought the rest of this recipe might sway them but it didn't work :( I tried to punch up the flavor by using garlic, red pepper and basil but it wasn't enough. I'll spice it up a little more next time, maybe even add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is soooo delicious. I've had something similar to this at a restaurant and haven't been able to duplicate it until now. I changed a few things just because of what I had on hand. I used marinated artichokes, drained and chopped, sundried tomatoes without the oil, julienned, half of a large onion finely chopped, two cloves of garlic, some cream sherry, fat free half and half and cornstarch, some crushed red pepper and a little bit of pasta water to thicken the sauce a bit. It was out of this world. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The look on our faces when we took the first bite said it all. This recipe is completely off the hook. My only changes were 2 chopped garlic cloves added with the shrimp & scallops, I chopped the artichokes & sundried tomatoes and added fresh parsley at the end. I may not add this to my weeknight dinner rotation as the ingredients are expensive, but I will make again. My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Quick, easy and good! Everyone in the family loved as is. The sauce was a little runny the first day. I added a little extra cheese to thicken. Was perfect the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Excellent...and very easy to tweak based on what's in the fridge --- I used roasted peppers instead of sundried tomatoes...added some leftover asparagus...and some fresh garlic as another review suggested...served it over angel hair.....Worth trying....Thanks...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I'm giving this a 3 because I had to doctor it a bit to try to get it flavorful enough for us, and it was still sort of bland. I sauteed garlic and hot pepper flakes in olive oil, then added the shrimp, artichokes and tomatoes, and scallops at the end so they wouldn't get too tough. I then removed the fish and vegies from the pan and added fat-free half and half, and cornstarch mixed with a touch of water. When this had started to thicken, I added the fish and vegie mixture back to the pan with the cheese and olives. I mixed in the pasta to absorb some of the sauce, and served with additional cheese. I am sure that whole cream would have added "something", but I am not sure it would have been worth the extra calories and fat. This is a great starting point, but I will have to play around with the recipe to get it to where there is enough "oomph!" to suit our tastes - I'll get back to you with the results! Thanks for a good starting point -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Ok, great recipe but added a few things. First, I sauted fresh garlic in a very small amount of olive oil before adding fish. Second, I added fresh parsley and cayenne pepper to taste. Just enough to give it a kick- Very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Better than I expected! I didnt have scallops so I used chicken breast instead. It was a bit bland we added garlic powder and salt/pepper.. could probably have used SOMETHING else, just not sure what the something would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was pretty good. I added cilantro, black pepper, garlic and red crushed pepper to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States