Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a masterpiece! I was able to make a "healthy" version of this recipe. I used Ronzoni whole wheat blend spaghetti instead of Penne. I think this is the best whole wheat pasta out there because it doesnt have a gritty texture and actually tastes like pasta. I used fat free half and half instead of cream and thickened it with 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in a little water before pouring it in. I also suggest topping this with some fresh chopped parsley. This was fast and delicious. Thanks Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
DEE-lious! I coarsely chopped the artichokes and julienned the tomatoes (drained, by the way. But reserve a couple of tbsp of the oil), as suggested by others. Made a couple of additions... Saute a couple of large cloves of garlic in the reserved oil until soft and fragrant, dicard garlic. Add shrimp and/or scallops, sprinkle with 1/8 - 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. Stir and cook a minute, then add the artichokes, tomatoes and 1 tbsp fresh or 1 tsp dried basil. After adding the cream and parmesan, stir in the chopped olives and 1 - 2 tbsp drained capers, salt and white pepper to taste. Toss with the pasta and heat through. I served it with a caesar salad and garlic bread. My boyfriend went crazy, he loved it. Says it in his top ten fav's. Kudos to Traci for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Didn't follow exactly,but the base premise of it is great! I sauteed 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil, added juileened sun dried tomato's, added 1 pound of scallops and 1/2lb. shrimp, 1 large handful of baby spinach. Sauteed, deglazed pan w/ 1/4 to 1/2 c. of dry sherry. Added 1/2 and 1/2 and about 1/4 c. of parmesean cheese. Served over pasta. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Needham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
My husband gives this recipe a "10." Something he's only done a few times in the ten years I've been cooking for him. Next time I would julienne the sundried tomatoes and chop the artichoke hearts (maybe the olives, too) so that I could get a little bit of everything in one forkful. The flavors are heavenly! Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I used all listed except I used 1/4 of a pint of cream. I think the reason some found it to have too much juice is because when the scallops are cooked, they add juice. I strained out the juice and reduced it, added 1/2 of the small carton of cream, cooked it and then added it back to the scallop/shrimp mixture. Then, I added 1/2 the pasta. This way, there is more seafood and less pasta to enjoy. It turned our perfect. My husband loved it and asked that I make it again. I had cooked up the whole package of pasta and used the other half the following night to make a cold pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Absolutely yummy. The only change I made, was (of course!!) the addition of garlic, just sauted in the pan in some olive oil before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Really tasty... found I didn't quite have enough sauce so had to whip up a little something else for the left overs. A couple changes, we're not fans of olives so we took those out. Drained the sundried tomatoes (only used a bit of the oil). Chopped those and the artichokes into smaller pieces. Instead of cream I used milk with cornstarch, and about a 1/4 cup of white wine. (Would have added more but it was all I had left!) Added garlic! Was a bit bland before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I like all the stuff in this recipe, but I think it gets too liquidy. Plus, it makes A LOT! It's easy to scale to the size of your party. My advice is to be careful with the heavy cream. Also, I buy the frozen shrimp (no-tail) and scallops. They work great, don't be afraid to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I thought this was delicious and actually easier to make than I expected. We used thawed frozen sea scallops and peeled and deveined shrimp (uncooked) for this dish. I diced everything pretty small per some reviews so I could get a little of everything in every bite. I used fat free half and half to make it a little healtheir and mixed in a couple tablespoons of flour to the half and half before adding it in as I like my sauces pretty thick and creamy. Finally, I added about 4 or 5 leaves of fresh basil at the last minute because I had it on hand in the garden. I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.... it wouldn't be too hard to have all of the ingredients on hand without making bi-weekly trips to the store. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made this for my aunt, wife, and 2 kids. Everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was I removed the olives (we all hate olives) and added 1 pound of back-fin crabmeat. The crab gave it a thick texture that was off the hook. Very easy to make. Just make sure you follow the recipe for cooking procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States