Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by RobBoiarski
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was excellent. We followed the recipe exactly. Not sure if the sun dried tomatos were to be marinated in oil but the ones I bought were. We also used bay scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobBoiarski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is really a 3 1/2 star! It was good but had a lot going on. I subbed FF 1/2 & 1/2 for the heavy cream to lower the calorie count. I think that I would have preferred it with just the shrimp instead of the shrimp and scallops. Tastey but a little too fishy for me. Will try it again tho and see if I still feel that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious! Omitted olives (preference). Like others, I sauteed a few cloves of garlic in oil from the tomatoes first. I cut back on the amount of heavy cream used and it was still nice and creamy. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for two people. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Super fast and easy to make! I added two cloves of garlic as others suggested and I used half and half instead of heavy cream. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I thought this was delicious and actually easier to make than I expected. We used thawed frozen sea scallops and peeled and deveined shrimp (uncooked) for this dish. I diced everything pretty small per some reviews so I could get a little of everything in every bite. I used fat free half and half to make it a little healtheir and mixed in a couple tablespoons of flour to the half and half before adding it in as I like my sauces pretty thick and creamy. Finally, I added about 4 or 5 leaves of fresh basil at the last minute because I had it on hand in the garden. I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.... it wouldn't be too hard to have all of the ingredients on hand without making bi-weekly trips to the store. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
It doesn't get any better than this, folks! Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Made this for my family. Even my grandparents loved it. I didn't use the artichoke and I used whole plum tomatoes and they ate the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Im not a big fan of this, it really needed more creamyness. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Every time DH takes a bite of this he says, "This is great!" I have made this twice and am thinking about adding asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I added capers and garlic to my sauce and sprinkled the shrimp with red pepper and basil and cooked in the tomato oil. I think spinach and/or mushrooms would also work well; however my husband says he wouldn't change a thing- he also said this is one of the best things I've ever made- which means this recipe is exceptionally delicious or I am not as good a cook as I've been led to believe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key West Chicken

It's the hint of lime that makes this marinade for grilled chicken so delicious.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States