Key West Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by RobBoiarski
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was excellent. We followed the recipe exactly. Not sure if the sun dried tomatos were to be marinated in oil but the ones I bought were. We also used bay scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobBoiarski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is really a 3 1/2 star! It was good but had a lot going on. I subbed FF 1/2 & 1/2 for the heavy cream to lower the calorie count. I think that I would have preferred it with just the shrimp instead of the shrimp and scallops. Tastey but a little too fishy for me. Will try it again tho and see if I still feel that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious! Omitted olives (preference). Like others, I sauteed a few cloves of garlic in oil from the tomatoes first. I cut back on the amount of heavy cream used and it was still nice and creamy. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for two people. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Super fast and easy to make! I added two cloves of garlic as others suggested and I used half and half instead of heavy cream. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I thought this was delicious and actually easier to make than I expected. We used thawed frozen sea scallops and peeled and deveined shrimp (uncooked) for this dish. I diced everything pretty small per some reviews so I could get a little of everything in every bite. I used fat free half and half to make it a little healtheir and mixed in a couple tablespoons of flour to the half and half before adding it in as I like my sauces pretty thick and creamy. Finally, I added about 4 or 5 leaves of fresh basil at the last minute because I had it on hand in the garden. I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.... it wouldn't be too hard to have all of the ingredients on hand without making bi-weekly trips to the store. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
It doesn't get any better than this, folks! Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Made this for my family. Even my grandparents loved it. I didn't use the artichoke and I used whole plum tomatoes and they ate the whole pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Im not a big fan of this, it really needed more creamyness. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Every time DH takes a bite of this he says, "This is great!" I have made this twice and am thinking about adding asparagus next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I added capers and garlic to my sauce and sprinkled the shrimp with red pepper and basil and cooked in the tomato oil. I think spinach and/or mushrooms would also work well; however my husband says he wouldn't change a thing- he also said this is one of the best things I've ever made- which means this recipe is exceptionally delicious or I am not as good a cook as I've been led to believe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooklyn Girl's Penne Arrabbiata

See how to make breaded chicken cutlets in a rich tomato sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States