Key Lime Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This cake is extremely moist! Took less than 90 minutes for me, maybe 70-75...I dyed it green for fun, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was great. Prep takes a bit of time, but otherwise I loved it! I brought it to a dinner party and it got great reviews! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Tin Can Castle
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as is, and was very pleased with the result: a moist, rich, tangy cake that was the perfect ending to a citrus-themed 3-course meal. I served it about 4 hours after taking it out of the oven, and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful stuff. Very rich, though and I cut it into smaller servings. Also, I only baked it for an hour before I tested it. 90 minutes seemed a bit long to me. Maybe the author of the original recipe wanted a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was pretty good! I added a little more rum to the cake and glace to give it an extra "kick"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
i made this cake today and it turned out really good,its a bunt cake witch i thought was better for the fluids it wouldnt get mushy.i used more lime and i used malibu coconut rum for better flavoring.i liked the glaze i also added more lime to that i would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We made this for a birthday dinner. It turned out great. Instead of pure rum on the glaze, we used rum extract. Both of the birthday people liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This cake was delicious. However, I did notice that the lime really overpowered the rum. Therefore, next time, I will add perhaps a tablespoon more rum. I did not make the glaze called for in the recipe. Instead, I used 2 cups of confectioners sugar and added about 4 tablespoons of lime juice. Also, it only took about 70 mins to bake, not the 90 called for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The cake part of the recipe is wonderful. Light, fluffy, moist- I added a lot more rum (like two cups worth :), and the lime is VERY strong. I think next time I'll use a little less lime. The glaze was ok- very limey- I suggest reviewing a few recipes for regular rum cake, because this is a strange glaze. I'm used to boiling mine for 4 minutes while stirring. I guess it's what you like! Overall, I would use this recipe again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I really liked this cake, but made a few changes. I cut down on the sugar and eggs in the cake, to 3 eggs and 1 cup of sugar. It still turned out very fluffy and light. I used a quarter cup of spiced rum in the main cake and a half cup in the glaze. I agree with other reviewers that the glaze is very sweet, so it might be worth it to cut down it's sugar contents too. I felt like the lime and the rum had a nice balance --- but then, I did use extra rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States