Key Lime Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
i made this cake today and it turned out really good,its a bunt cake witch i thought was better for the fluids it wouldnt get mushy.i used more lime and i used malibu coconut rum for better flavoring.i liked the glaze i also added more lime to that i would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WildLinda
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this cake yesterday; found it to be tasty but rather ordinary. Was looking forward to the zing of the key lime juice that others described but it just wasn't there, and I used fresh key limes from our own tree (Floridians)! As you can see, I used a chopstick for wider holes to let the glaze penetrate and then gave it all a powdered sugar dusting -- that worked well except the holes really show up. I don't think I'll make this again. It was almost as dense as pound cake, and not really sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildLinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I was not a fan of this cake. For the amount of fat and calories in it i found it incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We made this for a birthday dinner. It turned out great. Instead of pure rum on the glaze, we used rum extract. Both of the birthday people liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The flavor was o.k. but the cake was a bit dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was pretty good! I added a little more rum to the cake and glace to give it an extra "kick"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Wonderful stuff. Very rich, though and I cut it into smaller servings. Also, I only baked it for an hour before I tested it. 90 minutes seemed a bit long to me. Maybe the author of the original recipe wanted a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Tin Can Castle
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as is, and was very pleased with the result: a moist, rich, tangy cake that was the perfect ending to a citrus-themed 3-course meal. I served it about 4 hours after taking it out of the oven, and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I really liked this cake, but made a few changes. I cut down on the sugar and eggs in the cake, to 3 eggs and 1 cup of sugar. It still turned out very fluffy and light. I used a quarter cup of spiced rum in the main cake and a half cup in the glaze. I agree with other reviewers that the glaze is very sweet, so it might be worth it to cut down it's sugar contents too. I felt like the lime and the rum had a nice balance --- but then, I did use extra rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The cake part of the recipe is wonderful. Light, fluffy, moist- I added a lot more rum (like two cups worth :), and the lime is VERY strong. I think next time I'll use a little less lime. The glaze was ok- very limey- I suggest reviewing a few recipes for regular rum cake, because this is a strange glaze. I'm used to boiling mine for 4 minutes while stirring. I guess it's what you like! Overall, I would use this recipe again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States