Key Lime Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I used lime instead of key lime and didn't add whipped cream since I felt it was already so soft. I think 1 cup of lime is too much. I have a hard time eating a big slice since the acidity level is too high for my liking. next time 3/4 cups if I redo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very good, but better w/ some changes. I made it the 2nd time with 3/4 cup of fresh lime juice and only 2 tsp. of lime zest - I also used a bought graham cracker crust. Much better, IMO. We like to eat it frozen - very refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was a good pie. Not tart enough for my taste. I used whip cream and not frozen whipped topping. Might try again to make it tarter...not sure how though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Very good. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
So easy and Delicious. I used lemon pudding rather than vanilla pudding. I used 3 regular limes(not key limes) and 1 lemon. And used half the amount of cool whip called for. I kept everything else the same. The result was a thick and lite Lime Pie. I made it for dessert and my family of 4 adults ate the whole thing that night. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very yummy. Would make it again and cut the lime juice down to 3/4c. And for those of you who are wondering what the nutritional numbers are when you substitute reduced-fat graham cracker crust (Ready-Made, Keebler brand), low-fat sweetened condensed milk (Eagle Brand),and Lite Cool Whip, here are the details per serving. I used regular Jell-O Instant Pudding because the fat-free/sugar-free was 1oz and the recipe called for 3.5oz and I wasn't sure it would work. (cal/fat/carb/prot) Pudding (45/0/11.5/0), Crust (100/3.5/15/1), Whip (62.5/3.1/9.4/0), Lime Juice (8.25/0/2.8/0.14), Condensed Milk (162.5/1.8/28.7/3.75), TOTAL per serving (378.3/8.4/67.4/4.9)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to replicate the J. Alexander key lime pie and this is as close as it gets! I made a few changes: I omitted the rind, I added two drops of food coloring to get the light green color, I used fresh key lime juice - about 24 key limes. It takes a while to juice but well worth it. I hate cool whip so I used canned whip cream but only 1/4 cup since I love the fresh, tart flavor. For those who love tartness you can increase the key lime juice (way better!) but if you like sweetness then reduce the juice. I used a store bought graham crust. Let it set in refrigerator for 2 hrs, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this for my brother in law because Key Lime is his favorite pie. I am not normally a fan, but I really enjoyed this pie. So did he, and he's requested it several more times! Be careful not to add too much of the lime rind because it can make it too bitter. I also use heavy whipping cream in place of the cool whip. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is seriously the best key lime pie ever. It's super easy and it's the perfect blend of sweet and tart. I will be using this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made little "dessert shooters" in disposable shot glasses. I topped each with a squirt of canned whipping cream and a sprinkling of crushed crumbs (instead of crust). Huge hit! Just the right amount of tangy sweetness. Loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States