Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This is the only key lime pie recipe I'll ever use. I made it exactly as the recipe was written. The reviewer that said the pie was bitter may have over-zested the lime, unknowingly adding the bitter tasting layer of the flesh to the pie. Be careful not to go to far into the lime! I always make this in the morning and serve it at least 7-8 hours later. I pipe the edges of the pie with a simple homemade whipped cream at the halfway point of chilling (3-4 hours) so that it sets up nicely. A tiny sprinkle of lime zest (remember to be careful) adds a nice touch. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zen Witch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cashby
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used regular limes instead of key limes and it still turned out perfect. Everyone loved it, and will definitely make again. The lime zest adds a nice touch so I'd recommend doing it. Also, made my own graham cracker crust with the recipe from this site. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Good, but rich. Maybe too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great recipe! It was a cinch to make. I used key lime juice and it still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I never had a good key lime pie, so I thought I didn't like them. My mother in law requested one. #7 changed my mind. It is easy and a great gift for a party. I did however tweak the recipe. I substituted 1/2 cup of sweetened condensed milk with regular condensed milk. A little less sweet without loosing the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I made this as my first try at Key Lime Pie and it was great! I definitely recommend it. Just a quick side note, I like measuring our my ingredients (especially when I try a recipe for the first time) and I'm glad I did. The standard "14 oz" can of condensed milk was actually barely 12 oz when I measured it so I would recommend measuring the condensed milk instead of just using 2 cans. I'm sure it's not a big deal if you use a little less condensed milk but I think you'll get the consistent flavor every time by having the right ratios of all the ingredients. Happy tastings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe because it is SUPER EASY and tastes great! I have made it a few times. Tonight, my grocery store did not have any key limes, so I just had to buy the regular larger ones. It took 9 regular limes. Honestly, I could not tell the difference. Key limes are supposed to be sweeter, but with all the sweetened condensed milk in here (2 cans) the pie is plenty sweet even with regular limes. This pie absolutely needs home made whipped topping on the top of it. Just whip a pint of heavy cream with 3 T. sugar added into it. Whip until thick, put in a ziplock bag with a tiny corner cut off so that you can pipe it on the top. Perfection every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was perfect! I made it for Father's Day. My dad and other family members loved it. It took 20 minutes because I gave it a full 10 minutes to bake. I also used regular limes because key limes were not available. The flavor was still fantastic. I couldn't tell the difference. I should note that 2.5 cans of condensed milk equaled 3 cups for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire Poirier
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This pie is AMAZING! I made this pie for my dad for father's day and he loved it! Instead of using 20 limes, we found lime juice at Kroger's and used that. Also, I ended baking this in the oven for about 10 minutes instead of 8. Our pie turned out REALLY sweet though, so if you are looking for a tart pie, this is not it. It looks small, but it is really deep. Overall, great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Poirier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I absolutely love this key lime pie recipe! It was ridiculously easy to make! My only note is that mine took closer to 20 minutes to set-up in the oven as opposed to the suggested 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gale Kesler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,007) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States