Key Lime Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Excellent recipe and so easy! I didn't have any sour cream so I substituted plain, nonfat Greek yogurt and it worked perfectly plus made it a little healthier! I didn't add any grated lime zest since I didn't have a grater, but the omission didn't seem to affect the taste. An excellent recipe I will repeat many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I only added about a teaspoon of lime zest. The family LOVED it and said it was the best they ever had....I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimmyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very good pie. I've made this two times, once with the zest and once without the zest and it turns out good either way. I always end up having a portion of a can of condensed milk left over so next time I'll cut back on the condensed milk just enough for 2 cans and cut back a little of the juice to balance out with the condensed milk. I love that it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCretia Johnson
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
OMG! This pie is great! The added key lime zest is a perfect addition. I made this pie with the sour cream and then two days later I made another pie, but I used Fage Non-fat Greek Yogurt instead of Sour Cream. Some of the same people had both pies and said it tasted the same after I told them about the substitution. So I'll stick with the Yogurt from now on. If you decide to use yogurt, it has to be thick greek yogurt. Dannon or yoplait isn't going to work as well. Please make your own crust for this pie. It doesn't deserve a store bought. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I was hesitant to make this because I wanted to use fresh key limes, but didn't want the work entailed with trying to squeeze the juice from the oh so small key limes, until my husband suggested I use a garlic press. I cut the key limes in half and then squeezed them using the garlic press and...presto! Done in a flash! The pie was delicious and the recipe has been added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This might be the best pie I have ever made...and other than the squeezing of 24 key limes (thank goodness for the garlic press), possibly the easiest! I left out the zest because I prefer a creamier texture and blended for a full 2 minutes. Be sure to pick the seeds out of the halved key limes before sqeezing because these seeds are softer and even with the garlic press you can get some seed pulp which is a bit bitter. When cooking, I did not wait for the 'tiny bubbles' but pulled the pie out at exactly 10 minutes, allowed to cool for about an hour - uncovered, and then placed in the frig overnight with a cheesecloth lightly covering so it didn't get soggy on top. Perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Best Key Lime Pie EVER! I didn't even use key limes (I know- the horror!) and it turned out better than any key lime pie I have ever had. I will soon be making it with actual key limes to see how much better it will be. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This key lime pie was better than the one we had in Florida! I used 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk, Nellie & Joe's key lime juice and omitted the grated lime peel. I made a shortbread crust and homemade whipped topping. Crust: 24 Lorna Doonie cookies (crushed), 1 T sugar and 1/4 cup melted BUTTER. Mix together and pat down & up sides of a (slightly greased) 9-inch pie plate. Bake 325' for 10 minutes. Cool completely! Homemade whipped topping: Beat 1 cup heavy whipping cream until soft peaks form. Add 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1/4 t vanilla. Beat until stiff. Spread over entire pie. If you love key lime pie, this is the recipe for you!! You will NOT be disappointed!! Very easy and absolutely delicious! Truly a keeper! (Another suggestion is to drizzle a homemade raspberry sauce on the bottom of the plate before serving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this yesterday. Limes are small here so it really needed about 40 limes since I doubled the recipe. Also, I only used 2.5 cups of condensed milk and I thought it was plenty sweet and it firmed up in oven and the refrigerator just fine. If I were to make it next time, I would go even lower on the sweetened condensed milk to 2 cups and I bet it will be plenty sweet and still hold together. Finally, I used the gluten free graham crackers for a crust and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States